TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Selfportrait at midnight

with 6 comments

borut peterlin - selfportrait 20100816_6659

This self-portrait was done yesterday at around midnight. I had to submit a brief for an assignment and instead of describing aesthetic, I was forced to do a self-portrait, since my wife already slept. Lights (2250 Ws) were about 20 meters behind, bounced from the wall and in just in front of my face there was a reflector that was bouncing light from the wall onto my face. The hardest was to guess where is the focus. I put a tripod in front of the lens, focused on it and then I stepped there and moved the tripod out of the frame.
The scary look is because I was wondering if it’ll be in focus and if I’ll be in the frame. First fifteen tries were all completely bad, but with this one I totally look like a rock star, isn’t 🙂

Actually the real job is that I will need to portray a rock band.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gay.

    jc

    18 August, 2010 at 15:35

  2. Great, as always! A lot of mixed emotions on this photo, but still very strong integrity!

    My somehow funny technical tip:
    There is a simple way to avoid worrying about focus and framing: use a fisheye lens (on DX body, so the effect is less obvious). Some ‘strong drink’ might also help to achieve self portraits like these 🙂 http://www.janez-pelko.com/html/dri.htm

    Janezek

    18 August, 2010 at 15:38

  3. Tole pa zgleda čist podobno kot iz Nikonovega kataloga iz leta 1979 za Nikon FE, samo da je ženska na barvni fotki. Efekt pa isti. Funney 😀

    AzzQim

    18 August, 2010 at 23:46

  4. Ja, tisto je bila moja mama!

    Borut Peterlin

    19 August, 2010 at 07:34

  5. Ja, tisto je bila moja mama 🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    19 August, 2010 at 07:34

  6. I think your self portrait is fantastic. When I take pics of myself I like to dress up, change hair and make up and act different parts – it’s fun!

    Curvalicious

    21 August, 2010 at 13:25


Leave a Reply

