TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New creative portrait – Klemen Smolej

with 9 comments

klemen Smolej, jazz musician 20100823_7378

Klemen Smolej is a jazz musician and composer that won Jazzon award at Jazzinty festival and I portray him for Mladina weekly’sStriptiz creative portrait rubric.

For this portrait I was planning something completely different, to do a portrait outdoor somewhere at the open space, but I forgot my flash feeder (battery for studio flashes), so I had no power. I would go and hire it, but I thought since I’m in great time pressure (Monday + the first day after vacation) and I don’t have a really good outdoor location I might think of indoor location. It didn’t went well, I couldn’t get the keys to some abandoned rooms at the building, so I bought a cheese burek, thinking that I have 23 minutes to figure out something around Mladina. While I was eating I noticed the glass window just above the cellar of Mladina’s building and I decided to use that. I set a flash downstairs and directed through grid. I tried without a grid, but the whole room was too bright and his face was back lit.

What does the picture mean? Hey, I’m payed to produce images, I’m not qualified to interpret them! You come on this blog, take all my tips&tricks and now you want me to do also the intellectual work? No way! At least not for free! But you can make a pre-subscription to my new blog that will be just about interpretations of my pictures. Of course the subscription will be really expensive, but as a pre-subscriber, you will get a 22,5% discount and 0% of guarantee when this blog will be on-line. Isn’t great? A suspension of emotions! You know, art and stuff.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Admit it Borut… JC persuade you to write this down (last several sentences) … or maybe… somehow… he’s got your password and write it down by himself.
    I feel JC-ish spirit in this text 🙂
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    25 August, 2010 at 12:47

  2. I taught JC also how to develop B/W films and prints. If that answers your question 🙂

    B5

    25 August, 2010 at 13:05

  3. This picture made me hungry for cheese burek.:)

    Igor Petrović

    25 August, 2010 at 14:37

  4. Yes, that’s the embeded connotation of the picture! Although the fact is that burek in Ljubljana can not compare with burek (pita) from Prijedor 🙂

    B5

    25 August, 2010 at 14:43

  5. This picture made me hungry for Ljubljana’s cheese burek.:) I am just curious what is the taste of eastern food made in the west. 🙂

    Igor Petrović

    25 August, 2010 at 15:48

  6. Oh guys, c’mon… will you ever learn! Burek is BUREK (by definition it is a circled pie with meet). You are talking about SIRNICA (pie with cheese).

    Hello JC, I need you here man!!!

    Borut, you haven’t learned it properly. You must come here again to confirm your knowledge.

    Igor Motl

    25 August, 2010 at 19:51

  7. I know, I know my friend Leopardman, but Jarans from Ljubljana wouldn’t know what I’m talking about and JC would think it’s Slovenian way how vegetarians are “fixing” good old burek with tofu.

    B5

    25 August, 2010 at 20:04

  8. This time, my dearest cousin Igor, You are wrong. Burek in Turkish means pie not pie with meat. 🙂

    P.S. It is interesting how excellent picture of a musician can inspire a good talk about food. 🙂
    Thank You, B5. I5 will always follow Your inspirative blog posts. 🙂

    Igor Petrović

    26 August, 2010 at 13:07

  9. The pleasure is all mine! Always welcome. Too bad JC didn’t show up. He has a problem with the issue in NY, where vegetarians are planning to build a mosk on the area where WTC used to be.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    26 August, 2010 at 22:34


Leave a Reply

