TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait – TOMATO KOŠIR

with 2 comments

Tomato Košir 20101001_8209

In my series of of Striptiz creative portrait I made this portrait of Tomato Košir. He is fantastic graphic designer and his work is embedded in our everyday. Just check his site and you’ll recognize stuff.

it’s not a photomontage, I just made a hole in a box and stack tomatoes around his head. I used a flash with softbox to fill in the light. I put it high above, so light spreads evenly on whole scene.

Where did I got this idea? Thank you for asking, I did some research around his work and I came to a shocking discovery that his first name Tomato means tomato, so I thought to build a picture on that. Literally!!!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it’s good to know you can make a living out of this.

    jc

    12 October, 2010 at 12:35

  2. Actually I could if I would work in London. Slovenia is so small you can’t really specialize. To be also economically successful in Slovenia you need to be multitasking. If I would sell only one portrait like this for a magazine I could earn 80 EUR (expenses included). And that’s optimistic estimation. Probably magazine would suggest half the amount. So I do tons of press conferences, news events, interviews, music bands pictures, corporate, advertising,… On the end of the day, it does make a living, but it’s not an easy one.
    b5

    B5

    13 October, 2010 at 08:00


Leave a Reply

