TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New work for a Gorjanci Fairy-tale project

with one comment

A Gorjanci Fairy-tale - 20101029_1230

Cultural Center Janez Trdina, Novo mesto, Slovenia asked me to exhibit an old project, A Gorjanci Fairy-tale. Reluctant to exhibit the same pictures in the same space few years later, I said OK, if you’ll fund a production of few more pieces. They said yes, and this is my first come-back after I finished the project in 2004. you can check my older pics on my site HERE. Back then in 2001 I was photographing with a Mamiya RB67 camera on middle format color negative film. You can imagine how hard it was, but now, with a digital camera, it’s easy. Really easy. I’m publishing my lightbox.
When I found a motif, I was checking a composition, by firing straight flash. I was comparing which angle work best. Then I started to illuminate part by part of the picture, checking in between if it’s illuminated properly. Then I stitched all the layers in Photoshop, mixing mode lighten. It’s as simple as preparing a pasulj dish.
Are you curious to see the whole work flow? I can make a podcast about it. Comment.

Screen shot 2010-10-29 at 11.48.44 PM

Written by Borut Peterlin

30 October, 2010 at 08:46

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Pictures of virgin forest Krakovski pragozd at night, illuminated by detached flash lights SB900 and SB800 with gelatin filter. The picture is a part of a project A Gorjanci Fairy-tale. More about the series borutpeterlin.com . Technique is described in details on my blog: borutpeterlin.wordpress.com/2010/10/30/new-work-for-a-gor… […]


Leave a Reply

