TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Back to the Art

with 6 comments

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the end of November I visited Vienna Portfolio Review. For those who don’t know what is portfolio review about, it’s basically meetings with experts from photography and art world. That is editors, curators, gallery owners, agents, art directors, collectors… Artist pay a participation fee and then he meets a reviewer for 20 minutes. The participation fee varies from 99 EUR for 6 meetings to 260 EUR for 18 meetings. Of course I decided for 18 meetings in two days (plus few informal ones). On Monday I quit my job as photo-editor and on Thursday I went to Vienna with a new portfolio. No way back 🙂

Ob koncu novembra sem obiskal Vienna Portfolio Review in za tiste, ki ne poznate te dogodke, so to srečanja fotografov s strokovnjaki s področja fotografije in umetnosti, to je uredniki, kuratorji, galeristi, agenti, umetniške vodje festivalov,…. Umetnik plača udeležnino za dvajsetminutno srečanje s pregledovalcem. Udeležnina je tu znašala 99 eur za šest sestankov in 260 za 18 sestankov v dveh dneh. Seveda sem se odločil za vseh možnih 18 sestankov (in izpeljal še par neformalnih). V ponedeljek sem dal odpoved kot fotourednik tednika Mladina in v četrtek sem šel na Dunaj s svojo novo portfolio. Ni poti nazaj 🙂

Screen shot 2010-12-25 at 10.24.37 AM
Screen shot 2010-12-25 at 10.24.27 AMScreen shot 2010-12-25 at 10.24.53 AMScreen shot 2010-12-25 at 10.25.11 AMScreen shot 2010-12-25 at 10.25.25 AMScreen shot 2010-12-25 at 10.25.32 AMScreen shot 2010-12-25 at 10.25.57 AM

I made a portfolio just out of my Flower Power project. I learned by on my mistake in Arles that 20 minutes is enough to present only one project. I decided to follow archival, museum standards and printed my art on acid free 100% cotton paper, pigment colors, with acid free mat and that I’ll fasten prints only with corners. On this kind of portfolio shows is very important what you leave behind. Beside a visit card I prepared a small print-on-demand catalog. I received great feedback on the Portfolio Review show, but we’ll see what compliments will be realized in the following year. What’s the most important is that I felt I’m presenting my art in the best possible way that I can. The awareness that it’s worth it, it fells good. Very good.

Naredil sem portfolio samo iz Flower Power serije. Naučil sem se iz napake v Arles, Franciji, da 20 minut, kolikor traje sestanek, je dovolj za predstavitev enega projekta. Odločil sem se, da sledim smernice muzejskih, arhivskih standardov. Printal sem na brezkislinski 100% bombažni papir, s pigmentnimi barvami, z brezkislinskim paspartujem in da bom pritrdil printe samo s kotniki. Pri takšnih portfolio šovih, je ključno kaj pustiš za sabo. Odločil sem se, da poleg vizitke, pripravim tudi majhen katalog. Katalog sem tiskal na način print-on-demand, se pravi digitalni tisk, le 60 kosov. Na Portfolio Review dogodku sem prejel res veliko dobrih odzivov, a prizemljen pričakujem prave rezultate šele naslednje leto. Kar je najbolj pomembno je občutek, da predstavljam svoje delo na najboljši možni način, kot znam. Občutek, da je vredno, res dobro dene. Zelo dobro.

Lately I feel obsessed by Art. When I watch an art piece of whoever in whatever field, I can feel the dedication, the creation, the passion, the story behind it. It’s similar to chess. On the surface just a pieces on board, but deep under it’s a battle of armies competing in speed, precision, tactic… The principles that I’ve learned in chess and Martial Arts are identical to principles of art. This thought is neutralizing the feeling of guilt that arrouse because I skipped many exhibition openings because of Muay Thai trainings and burn quite some midnight oil for chess games 🙂

Zadnje čase se počutim obsedenega z Umetnostjo. Ko opazujem umetniško delo kogarkoli v kateremkoli področju, čutim predanost, kreativnost, strast, zgodbo za delom,… Podobno je šahu. Ob površnem pogledu le figure na šahovnici, a poglobljen pogled vidi vojski, ki tekmujejo v hitrosti, natančnosti, taktiki,… Principi, ki sem se jih naučil pri šahu in borilnih veščinah, so dejansko enaki principom v umetnosti. Ta misel nevtralizira občutek krivde, ki sem ga dobil, ko sem izpustil mnoge otvoritve razstav zaradi treningov tajskega boksa in skuril mnogo prostega časa za polnočne igre šaha.

I’m meeting so many artists and they are fueling my passion to the art. This week I was blown away by Matjaž Berger, Pavle Ravnohrib and the rest of avantgarde theater Anton Podbevšek Teater. Then I spend an afternoon with Ive Tadar a body artist that does not make a compromises in his work. More about him in later post, but let me just mention his most infamous performance, when he drilled a hole in his knee (link).

Srečujem mnoge umetnike, ki me napajajo mojo strast do umetnosti. Ta teden so mi dih vzeli Matjaž Berger, Pavle Ravnohrib in ostali člani Anton Podbevšek Teatra (več v ponedeljek). Potem sem preživel popoldne z body-art umetnikom Ive Tadar, katerega najbolj zloglasni performans je, da si je v koleno zvrtal luknjo. On res ne pozna besedne povezave umetnost in kompromis.

As you could conclude, my next resolution is to steer my career back to the Art. In the beginning of December I even had a talk on a theme from Artist to a craftsman and back. Nikon Days is the largest photography event in Slovenia on which in a single afternoon more then thousand photographers gathered. I articulated my case in a clear way and that’s another indicator that I know what I’m doing.

Kot ste že sami prišli do sklepa, je moja (pred)novoletna obljuba, da usmerim svojo kariero nazaj v Umetnost. Na začetku decembra sem imel celo predavanje na temo Od Umetnika do obrtnika in nazaj. Nikonov dan fotografije je najbolj obiskan fotografski dogodek v Sloveniji, kjer se v enem samem popoldnevu zbere več kot tisoč fotografov. V predavanju sem jasno artikuliral mojo odločitev, kar je še en znak, da vem kaj počnem.

nikonday-13
Photo / Foto : Matic Kos

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wish you a prosperous art career!

    Also, loved the Ravnohrib striptiz photo in the latest Mladina (and no, i don’t want to hear about my not-so-visionary striptiz-ending-advice again 🙂

    ivan

    25 December, 2010 at 14:50

  2. ha, ha… Ivan. Deal. Point taken. Ha, ha….
    S Pucljem sva rekla, da greva na PhotoEspana. Boš šel tudi ti? ROk in roll,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    25 December, 2010 at 15:31

  3. PhotoEspana, začetek junija? Zakaj pa ne, sam da se mi ne bo s faksom križalo…

    ivan

    25 December, 2010 at 21:05

  4. […] few Flower Power catalogs around the world. To whom did I send? Majority of catalogs I gave away at Vienna Portfolio Review Show. This catalogs are printed only in 60 pieces (print on demand), so I decided to send it to […]

  5. […] Power images upon invitation of Mindaugas Kavaliauskas. We’ve met at Viena Portfolio Review (a report from Vienna). The festival was great, I met so many great people from all over the world, exhibitions were […]

  6. […] Here is a link of my blog post from Arles Photo Folio 2009. HERE is a link from Vienna’s Portfolio Review 2010. HERE is a link from Arles and Perpignan festivals […]


Leave a Reply

