TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New coverpage of Mladina weekly

with 6 comments

Creative director: Robert Botteri,
Graphic design Damjan Ilic and Ivian Kan Mujezinovic,
Photography & production Alenka and Borut Peterlin

Ciao tutti,
here is a cover page of tomorrow’s Mladina weekly. Creative editor asked me if I can do a cover with vegetable on a theme of ecology, new mentality, etc… I was reluctant to go ahead with the whole thing, knowing it demands a lot of work and preparation, but since this is my last issue of Mladina weekly on a position of photoeditor I give it a try. (I’ll still work as a photographer for Mladina).

With a help of my lovely wife Alenka (check her site) we made an improvised table top studio. I needed clay to shape up a face on which I will lay vegetable. I got it from my neighbor Vesna Majes Klančičar (she makes fantastic pottery). And here is the result. I didn’t use almost no photoshop, just fine tunning. The most surprising thing was that when I send it to creative director, he asked me how (and why) did I portray a particular Slovenian politician? Did I?
So I’m asking you does it resemble to some Slovenian politician?
PS: Do you remember last vegetable art work by A5 and B5? LINK…

20110104_807220110104_8074

Tu je naslovnica jutrišnjega tednika Mladina. Kreativni urednik me je prosil, da bi naredil nekaj iz zelejave, nekaj na temo ekologije, nova miselnost, pa to. Predlagal sem mu portret človeka iz zelenjave. Kljub temu, da sem nisem bil navdušen, saj vem koliko dela in časa vzame takšen podvig, a glede na to, da je to moja zadnja številka Mladine, kjer sem še fotourednik, sem se odločil, da poizkusim. (saj bom še delal za Mladino, a samo kot fotograf)

S svojo blagorodno ženo Alenko (povezava do njene strani) sva postavila improviziran table-top studio in se lotila dela. Potreboval sem glino, kot osnovo modeliranje oblike obraza katero bom obložil z zelenjavo. Glino sem dobil pri sosedi Vesni Majes Klančičar, ki dela res fenomenalne ročne lončarske izdelke. In tu je rezultat. Nisem skoraj nič uporabljal photoshopa, le tu in tam sem kak detajl zgladil in blitvo očistil glinenih prstnih odtisov. Najbolj me je presenetil komentar urednika, ki me je vprašal kako (in zakaj) sem upodobil določenega politika. Kaj sem res, sem mu vrnil vprašanje.
Tako sprašujem vas. Komu je podoben ta obraz?

PS: Se še spomnite zadnje mojstrovine z zelenjavo, sirom, šunko, mlekom, keksi, tima A5 in B5? (POVEZAVA)

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. j. j. arcimboldo! http://bit.ly/dFehwR

    Anonymous

    7 January, 2011 at 10:03

  2. thx for the link, but in this case photography is much better medium. I didn’t know Arcimbodo. Inspiring.

    Borut Peterlin

    7 January, 2011 at 10:22

  3. Pljunuti Janša.. hehe

    Dušan Zidar

    7 January, 2011 at 13:07

  4. Pa je res podoben Janšatu

    L5

    7 January, 2011 at 17:43

  5. ooo, prvi L5 komentar!
    lepo,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    8 January, 2011 at 10:09

  6. Thumbs up! That is a nice team work…you have a super wife! 🙂

    Ciril

    8 January, 2011 at 14:03


Leave a Reply

