TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Back to the future with wet collodion process

with 6 comments

20110309_7932

When I saw exhibition of Sally Man in Photographers Gallery in London I was overwhelmed by the aesthetic of this technique, so I said I’ll give it a try. Under there is a video of Sally Man while working.

I bought this Folding Brownie 1/4 Plate Tintype Studio Kit from Bostick-Sullivan, New Mexico, USA for 641 EUR. This sum contains shipping and customs to Slovenia, EU. I’ll try first tintype, then I’ll move on to wet collodion glass plate medium. But first I’ll ask an expert to help me out with mixing of this chemicals, since I don’t want to poison myself. Stay tunned. Perhaps in a week I’ll have first results. Until then, here are some pictures from Uncle Google.

Ko sem videl razstavo Sally Man v Photographers Gallery v Londonu, me je prevzela estetika te tehnike in sem se odločil, da poizkusim. Spodaj je pripet video Sally Man med delom.

Kupil sem kit za mokri kolodij fotografijo pri Bostick-Sullivan. Vse skupaj s poštnino in carino je stalo 641 EUR. Najprej bom poizkusil tehniko na pločevini, ki je priložena (levo od kamere), potem pa se bom spravil nanašati kolodij na steklo. Preden se bom lotil zadeve, bom prosil za pomoč strokovnjaka, kemika po poklicu, saj se nočem zagiftati. Mogoče bo že čez kakšen teden pokazati kak rezultat, do takrat pa POVEZAVA do fotografij strica Googla v tej isti tehniki.

Written by Borut Peterlin

9 March, 2011 at 23:06

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck. 🙂
    Collodion sounds like name of some space super hero. 🙂
    Like it. 🙂

    Igor5rović

    9 March, 2011 at 23:12

  2. Živijo,

    a je kaj uspelo?

    LP,
    Katja

    Katja Krajnc

    15 August, 2011 at 22:57

  3. Zdravo Katja,
    ravnokar organiziram delavnico in če te zanima se lahko preizkusiš. Ne vem ali bo v Sloveniji ali v Srbiji, kjer je mojster Dapčević doma. http://www.flickr.com/photos/ugodap
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    16 August, 2011 at 08:04

  4. […] Brownie with me and I’m surprised how good it works although it’s about 100 years old. HERE is a post that I’ve wrote when I got it, but then I never took time to figure out how it […]

  5. […] my Wet Collodion Process – Tintype photographs taken with 100y old Kodak Folding Brownie. HERE is a post where I got it. Below are images of students that were exhibited on a final show at the […]

  6. […] destination after four years of intensive work. Six years or so I’ve seen an exhibition of Sally Mann in London Photographer’s Gallery and I’ve decided there on the spot I want to learn this witchcraft of collodion. It took me […]


Leave a Reply

