TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Snapshot for Alexander Rodchenko

with 11 comments

picture of the day 20110310_8159

On Friday I’ve made this picture. I love this kind of spring / autumn light, so I take this kind of pictures. It reminds me a little on Rodchenko’s picture Girl with Leica (1934), but of course his is way better. This Rodchenko’s photograph it used to be the most expensive photograph in the world. In eighties if I remember correctly from Famu’s lessons 15 years ago. I remember that history professor asked me when did Rodchenko bought his first camera and I answered correctly. I’m not sure now, but I think it was in 1924. Rodchenko is without a doubt my role model and once I participated in a group exhibition in Berlin’s Martin Gropius Bau and in next room Rodchenko’s pictures were hanging. That I consider definitely a personal highlight of my career.

V petek sem naredil to fotko na seji občinskega sveta. Obožujem spomladansko in jesensko svetlobo in včasih ujamem to veselje v fotgrafiji. Pravzaprav takoj, ko sem videl motiv, sem se spomnil na Rodchenka in njegovo fotko Dekle z Leico (1934), a seveda je Alexandrova veliko boljša. Če se še prav spomnim lekcij s Famu akademije, je bila ta fotka v nekem trenutku osemdesetih let najdražja fotka na svetu. OK, to je bilo 15 let nazaj, tako se morda / verjetno motim. Profesor me je na izpitu vprašal katerega leta je Rodchenko kupil svoj prvi fotoaprata in odgovoril sem pravilno. Leta 1924, če se prav spomnim. Rodchenko je brez dvoma moj vzornik in za enega mojih osebnih dosežkov si štejem, da sem so moje fotke visele v berlinskem Martin Gropius Bau, v sosednji sobi pa so visele fotke Aleksandra Rodchenka.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Take fotografije bi lahko gledao po cele dni. Nikoli mi ne bi postale dolgočasne. 🙂

    Igor Petrović

    14 March, 2011 at 21:11

  2. You made this picture? I like….it…A LOT…I knew you could do it, I always believed in you! I thought the highlight of your career was when you figured out what poštěváček meant?

    jc

    14 March, 2011 at 21:35

  3. Yes, I met your mother, she demonstrated how it works at V.K. class. Do you want me to publish a picture? We called it a subjective documentary photography, smelling like a fish!

    Thx, I knew you will like the warm tone Foma baryt style.

    Borut Peterlin

    14 March, 2011 at 21:47

  4. JC, I updated my comment. Don’t miss it. You’ll love it.

    Borut Peterlin

    15 March, 2011 at 01:57

  5. I was looking for that picture, I couldn’t find it in my archives…it makes sense now that you hijacked! Well I do consider you a brother so no harm done and at the same time I’m also honored.

    jc

    15 March, 2011 at 15:06

  6. Lepa fotka, za lepo jutro.

    A5

    16 March, 2011 at 07:06

  7. lepa fotka ty vole

    jc

    16 March, 2011 at 13:06

  8. Ok. It’s not THAT good…you can take it off now.

    jc

    18 March, 2011 at 08:24

  9. Just to keep this blog warm before it dies:

    http://www.aworldtowin.net/reviews/Rodchenko.html

    jc

    20 March, 2011 at 15:36

  10. I’m going to press very hard for a UN resolution to bring down the tyrant of this blog! It’s worst than communism, it’s the same shit all the time and all the comments are on how great it is.

    jc

    20 March, 2011 at 22:44

  11. ha, ha.. Hey JC, we didn’t change from student’s years, I’m still working at least twice as much as you, so give me a break.
    🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    21 March, 2011 at 00:02


Leave a Reply

