TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

James Mollison in my house and Phase One in my hand

with 6 comments

James Mollison stopped at my house yesterday on his way back from Belgrade. For you who don’t know James’s work, you must check his books and he did many, many books. My favourite book of his is The Disciples, a must have in your photographic library.

We used to work together in Fabrica.it we lived in an old stereotypical Italian villa, where we had numerous parties. Here is a link to a picture from one of the party. The villa was very old and rooms were without a heating, we only had one big central fire place and that was the place for brainstorming about nothing and everything. And so we did also yesterday night. After a glass or two, I confessed that I “envy” his success in book publishing and that after my postgraduate studies at London College of Printing I decided to set aside my artistic career and first take care of my family so I became a craftsman, build a house, learned how to make a money with photography, take care of my family,… Now we’re in a new house and my daughters are ladies already at age of 4 and 7 and I can feel the Artist-in-me is coming on stage again. The craftsmen-in-me is nowadays only taking pictures and everything else is outsourced.

Today I got this great, great, GREAT feeling that at age of 36 I have a really solid foundation for life in the house, in my family, in my friends, in the-craftsman-in-me and I’m in the best physical shape ever. I got this great feeling that in front of me are at least another 36 years to be devoted to The Art. And of course James, an old friend is a beacon out there – in here, a guest in my house.

I tried his camera Phase One model P65. I was making a personal test how the camera would fit my way of working. First few impressive technical characteristics. This animal produces files of 8984 x 6732px, that is 60million pixels, format 6×4,5. It is basically a system of Mamiya AF645, shaped up for needs of studio / fashion photography. Slideshow below can show you what was I interested in. How those Schneider lenses are drawing at aperture f/2,8, could I catch a moment when my daughter will be in focus while swinging,… The noise level at 400 ISO is already very visible. James said he uses only at 100 and 200 ISO. Display is very small and very bad and batteries run out amazingly quickly. Nevertheless this depth of field at full body shots with 110mm lens at f/2,8 is amazing and sharpness at 8 is too good.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. First of all Vesele velikonočne praznike for all you Slovene faithfuls and James is much better with a beard and glasses. Maybe you could put aside your craftsmanship and grow some facial hair. It seems to go well with success.

    jc

    25 April, 2011 at 15:35

  2. What is up with this blog? No one comes here anymore.

    jc

    27 April, 2011 at 12:48

  3. I think it’s time for you to start your own blog ЖК my west european friend. No need to post any images, just comments. Maybe you could start a revolution with new kind of blogs – commentblogs. I promise I will comment on it ’till the end of time and on all the f…ing eastern languages you like so much.
    You can copy/paste this one as yours first:
    “Ljudi, meni je JC stvarno drag lik i iako na prvu njegovi komentari na Borutovom blogu znaju biti oštri, podmukli, zajedljivi i uvredljivi – to je samo prividno – JC posjeduje posebnu draž iskazivanja poštovanja i ljubavi prema njemu dragim osobama (čitaj – Borut) i moram priznati da ponekad željno isčekujem komentar koji će JC da postavi iako on najčešće (ali samo prividno) nema veze sa onim što Borut piše. Isto tako znam da će JC imati i komentar na ovaj komentar i molim sve ljude dobre volje da mu ovaj tekst ne prevode kako bismo bili svjedoci njegove velike kreativnosti u verbalnom izražavanju. JC – voli te ekipa sa brdovitog Balkana!!!

    Igor Motl

    28 April, 2011 at 00:39

  4. Igore, now JC will harass me to translate the comment! JC is a character upon which Dr. House character was written 🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    28 April, 2011 at 05:44

  5. Oh… and JC will never start a blog, not because he is too lazy, all though he is, but he’s affraid that somebody will write his kind of comments, about his work. Never mind JC, comments about you and your work are always welcomed on my blog.

    Borut Peterlin

    28 April, 2011 at 05:59

  6. “The interiors of old opera houses are a modern gloss on a traditional shape,” says Roger Parker, opera historian and professor of music at King’s College, London. “They are a bit like a fake antique – they’re meant to look old, but not in the way they would be if they had been left as originally built.”

    Мюзицио

    4 February, 2016 at 22:30


Leave a Reply

