TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New creative portrait – Tone Stojko

with 15 comments

20110418_5215 tone stojko foto borutpeterlin.com

Tone Stojko is a legendary photojournalist and photoeditor of Mladina weekly, whose many images are part of Slovenian iconography, foremost the arrest of Janez Janša (31. maj 1988). His latest exhibition are beautiful images of body in movement, a picture series that he started already in 1974 and I remember when I was in secondary school, about 16 years of age and I saw his catalog of portraits of Neca Falk an artist and also his wife and I remember that I was so impressed I was showing the catalog to senior colleagues asking how did he do this kind of pictures. His exhibition is still open until 3.7.2011 in Galerija Jakopič.

When I walked in his studio I knew I’m about to photograph a photographer that was a role model for me and knew I was in great time pressure since I had to photograph new creative portrait for Mladina in the next hour and I didn’t had a clue where and how will I photograph both of the portraits. That’s the name of the game in photo-journalism, so I don’t get stressed any more, I just do my best and rockandroll. In this case I loved his spacey studio in downtown Ljubljana, full of sunlight, high ceiling and two cats. Those two cats, jumping around and studio full of sunlight were an inspiration. I recalled a Bresson’s image of Henri Matisse with doves and I wanted to make something in this feel. That’s how I work. I don’t try to do the same kind of image as Bresson, I’m trying to catch that kind of feel, the kind of mood, that I get from the image, I’m inspired by. I hope you’ll enjoy it, leave a comment, rate and rockandroll!

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My friends, brothers and followers of this blog. First all thank you for nominating me king of this blog and offering to leave Borut’s reign for a new one: mine. I haven’t been able to comment because well…er….I’ve been working. Yes, I know, I’m not proud of it but I’m working on a new site and my new film. Once finished I will be happy to show you the same shit I’ve always done but on a better site ( thanks to Borut ).

    I will be happy to write in all the languages known under the former eastern block and and and yes…I will write more. My work has missed the written content and the 100% value in it…I know.

    Now…back to Borut “two scars” Peterlin…the picture of you lifting weights…classic…but as beautiful as your muscles are the 2.5 kg weight kills it for me.

    Not crazy about this last portrait but enjoyed James’ portrait.

    jc

    1 May, 2011 at 16:06

  2. What, 2,5 kg? I know math is not your best side, but I photoshoped more then 10 kg, I know!

    You are not crazy? HA, as I comment to Igor, I love the Serbian humor!

    Borut Peterlin

    1 May, 2011 at 17:35

  3. Borut Striptiz Petrlin nailed it again.

    Igor Petrović

    1 May, 2011 at 22:50

  4. I’m wondering if people read this blog first thing in the morning before doing anything else. In case you are that person, this is for you:

    Bin Laden is dead. Have a nice week.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-13256676

    jc

    2 May, 2011 at 06:25

  5. Well I certainly am, so thx.

    I was dreaming this night I had an interview with Gadafi and when interview begone I realized that I forgot my studio light and I went to pick them up on the other side of Tripoli and I came back when interview was over. Then I said, well I’ll slip in next photo-term with other crew and make few shots and while I was waiting Nixon walked in the lobby and sit beside me on a very small brass chair that my daughter have in their room. Then I noticed also Carter and the room was full of USA diplomats. I was wondering when should I get my camera out, but I decided that since there was no Libyan security personnel around I’ll take few shots as a documentation. Nixon loved that there was a photojournalist that slipped through Libyan security check, so I was welcomed by USA diplomats. After few shots I took away my camera, thinking why there are no Libyan personnel in the house. I went to toilet, I check staircase, the entrance, but no living soul was in the house. Then I realize the house will be racketeered and everybody will die. I was lingering between leaving and staying since it was the once-in-a-life-time opportunity. Then I woke up.
    Ciao,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    2 May, 2011 at 07:34

  6. oh dear. that is a vivid dream indeed. lots to think about.

    jc

    3 May, 2011 at 09:49

  7. He’s cat person! =D

    Sebastjan Vodušek

    3 May, 2011 at 12:07

  8. who’s a cat person? borut or me? and what is a cat person? someone who prefers cats? or is it like leopard man…half man half leopard. This is more of cat person to me considering leopards are close to the feline family. Borut is more of a strazak type of man.

    jc

    3 May, 2011 at 13:50

  9. Anonymous

    3 May, 2011 at 14:36

  10. wow anonymous, that is impressive. Did you put this together? Surely there must an equivalent with dogs no?

    jc

    3 May, 2011 at 15:48

  11. Stražan-type of person in Čefurian, JC. Sebastjan (anonymous) is now Seba-type of person 🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    4 May, 2011 at 06:48

  12. jc, of course I didn’t. I just thought it interesting coincidence that Borut posted a portrait with a cat on his blog, which I follow silently, and a few hours latter a post with enormous amount of portraits with cats appeared on a random blog under recommended items in my google reader. I just wish the autror of this second blog would name the photographers as well.

    Anonymous

    4 May, 2011 at 15:25

  13. Who are you Mr. Anonymous?

    jc

    5 May, 2011 at 11:36

  14. He is Sebastjan Vodušek, or as friends call him Sebastjan Vodušek

    Borut Peterlin

    5 May, 2011 at 20:54

  15. Busted.

    jc

    6 May, 2011 at 09:25


Leave a Reply

