TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Back from Tour de Dayton

with 12 comments

b5 tour the dayton photo: igor motl b5 tour the dayton photo: igor motl

Zdravo,
I’m back from my cycling tour in Bosnia and Herzegovina on an ethnic border between Federation side and Republic of Srbska, also known as Dayton border. My Tour de Dayton was great, I was making landscape pictures that have some sort of political connotations. I was traveling partly with bicycle, partly by bus. I was sleeping in a tent, at Igor Motl in Prijedor and at Timur in Sarajevo. In this four and a half days I drove 360 km with 17kg of luggage up and down Bosnian’s hills and mountains (marked red). It was very exhausting, but after every good picture I knew I’m on a right track and my motivation was on very high level. I love taking panoramic pictures on a tripod. It’s so different working pace then I’m used to! I wasn’t making almost no snapshots, every picture was on tripod. Well, this few images that I’m publishing here are snapshots, but 1400 others were taken on a tripod. Now with a help of two colleagues we will stitch those images into panoramas and that will take a while. I felt very safe in Bosnia, only I couldn’t accept so many invites to sit for a coffee. I wasn’t scared even on mine fields, but I was very scared in tunnels. I could imagine that hilly Bosnia has many tunnels, but I didn’t expect so, so many. Only from Goražde to Višegrad there are 39 tunnels and only few are lit, most of them are pitch dark. In a tunnel between Prača and Goražde I thought I’ll fade out from smog. It was very small tunnel, for only one car, perhaps a van would fit and it was more then one kilometer long. I was cycling on full power before a car, that was properly illuminating the road in front and could help me if I got in trouble. Soon when I got out I got a headache, but it was a brief one. I love Bosnian water stops. There are so many springs in Bosnia that they make a stop beside a road with a water spring aside. That water is d.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

B5 tour

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Браво, летеићи Словенац. 🙂

    Igor Petrović

    30 June, 2011 at 11:14

  2. Браво, летећи Словенац. 🙂

    Igor Petrović

    30 June, 2011 at 11:14

  3. Why is there a picture of Timur but none of Leopardman? How do we know he really exists and is not merely Bosnian folklore. Ahhh if you don’t your vegetables leopardman will come and get you rrrrrrrr….

    Anyway, as always, I’m using this platform to ridicule my good friend Borut but today I’m using it to advertize my arrival to Fotopub festival. I’m sure you didn’t believe it just like when Mladic was sent to Holland but this is true…I am coming to Sloveniaorszag.

    I want more pictures of your trip…looks like you had a good run.

    Anonymous

    30 June, 2011 at 14:50

  4. In case you didn’t know who that last comment was from…it’s me.

    jc

    30 June, 2011 at 15:18

  5. Yes, I vegetarians are forbidden to take a picture of the Leopardman! He is a fugitive, just smarter then Mladić, so he’s still at large. I did sow some panoramas already, but it’s crap to publish it on net. I’ll make a video with some zooming in and some good old school Slavic narrative. You gonna love it. That’s great that you’re coming to Fotopub! Also Ivana will be there. Famu generation 1997 🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    30 June, 2011 at 15:21

  6. @ Igor,
    guza protestuje! Sedeči Словенац, jer ju još lečim 🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    30 June, 2011 at 15:25

  7. Upam da je vredno teh panoram. 🙂

    Igor Petrović

    30 June, 2011 at 20:38

  8. Excellent! I was in Sarajevo last week but went by train from Ljubljana. I would have probably gotten there faster by bike. 🙂

    pirano

    3 July, 2011 at 22:12

  9. Loeopardman was here!!!

    Igor Motl

    4 July, 2011 at 00:18

  10. Zemljevid, z vrisano potjo, je bila dobra ideja za ženo, ki je bila prepričana, da fotografiraš šengensko mejo. V Bosni! 🙂

    A5

    13 July, 2011 at 09:51

  11. Ha, ha… Ja, če pa revca je bila sama doma in ni bilo moža, da bi objasnil razliko med šengensko in daytonsko mejo!

    Borut Peterlin

    13 July, 2011 at 11:10


Leave a Reply

