TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

A creative portrait inspired by a dream – Blaž Porenta

with 7 comments

blaz_porenta_20110722_2497_by_borutpeterlin.com

Blaž Porenta is an illustrator that has an exhibition in Grossmann festival of fantastic film and I was assigned to do his portrait for Mladina weekly. I’ve been doing this kind of wacky portraits for five years now, every week (at least) one and I’ve done dozen portraits of illustrators and frankly I didn’t had a concept how will I photograph him. I was hoping for cataclysmic clouds that actually happened during the weekend, but on this Friday it was sunny time. I was thinking whole Thursday, but no good concept came along.

Before I woke up on Friday I had a dream where I saw the image exactly how I’ve done it later the day. He is doing his illustrations with computer and I thought to use a mouse as a jail ball and make his face as a tattoo on his leg. I’ve done it just the same way as it’s described in this tutorial. Although I knew the technique, I love to check youtube to see how other people are doing it. I recommend this approach. You learn a lot.

Don’t forget to rate and comment. I was told it’s good for your skin and my ego! Not to mention SEO!

PS: Fotopub Festival of Documentary Photography is starting today and I’ll do some reports from there. See you!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. very cool portrait

    thepetalpusher

    25 July, 2011 at 18:41

  2. You’re wlld man…just wild!

    Anonymous

    30 July, 2011 at 10:51

  3. fotopub just finished…great energy!

    Anonymous

    31 July, 2011 at 10:07

  4. Yes, Fotopub finished and I haven’t done any reporting…
    But I’ve done a really cool photo-movie as a participant of multimedia workshop. I will publish it before Wednesday when I go to sea site.
    Great. Energy.
    B5

    PS: JC why did you stop dancing at parties? I mean of course there are many subjective reasons that you don’t dance, but you do many other ludicrous acts and people laugh doesn’t stop you.

    Borut Peterlin

    1 August, 2011 at 06:06

  5. yes you are right…but i danced at the epic drum session of novo mesto which took all my energy…at my age you have one epic (maybe 2 or 3) party per week and well saturday came too close to the other 3 epic parties. Rest assured that at the end of the day, it was all about being Great. Energy.

    Anonymous

    1 August, 2011 at 17:11

  6. He’s insanely talented, Marvel should definitely hire him for commisioned artwork!

    Anushka

    3 August, 2011 at 13:58

  7. Very good information I love that picture very creative 😉

    Surf Costa Rica

    24 October, 2011 at 18:52


Leave a Reply

