TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New 5am pictures from Czech Republic, Poland and Lithuania

with 8 comments

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


On Wednesday I took a train to Lithuania, to Kaunas Photo festival where I’m exhibiting my Flower Power project. My itinerary was that I should change a train at Warsaw East, but train was one hour late and the connection to Lithuania was at Warsaw Central. I showed even my itinerary to conductor but he just read Warsaw East, so I missed the train for Lithuania. Women at information office didn’t spoke English or German, so I tried to communicate in Russian. I never learned Russian, but I speak Slovenian, Serbian, Czech and I then I mix all together and try to communicate in “Russian” 🙂 It worked several times, but it did not this time. I took a train to Białystok hoping for a connection further, but without luck. I was stuck in Poland for a day with a huge headache. I took a room at the hotel and rest whole day. I decided that next morning I’ll take beautiful images at 5am and that will turn the whole incident into jackpot for my photography. I’m not superstitious, but this is one of the ways to get trough stressful situations in a decent manner. So above are images from Czech Republic (in train), Białystok / Poland and Kaunas / Lithuania and you judge if my tactics work 🙂
Link to my project 5am
LINK of the trip.

Written by Borut Peterlin

27 August, 2011 at 09:49

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this is good…this is what you were made to do. continue this way…

    jc

    27 August, 2011 at 15:21

  2. thx bro! Yes, Nikon D3s is made for this project and I just need to get 35/1,4 lens and somebody stop me if they can 🙂
    I know you will enjoy images taken in no other then in Ostrava! Ha! The boy and a girl were photographed in Ostrava!
    (LINK of the trip)
    I enjoy so much this morning walks, I think I’ll continue even in Slovenia. Yes, I’m made to continue 5am. Why not! Ha!

    Exhibition opening of Flower Power at Kaunas Photo festival was great! Really great. Actually it was even better then that, but I don’t want to brag. Can you believe it? I’ll let you know everything in the next post. I’ll probably publish it on Monday evening, when I’ll come home. Are you coming to Perpignan, čefur? Common, the only place you can call me a čefur is in France and you’re missing the dream opportunity! Then book for Bratislava month of photography and also Portfolio Review in Vienna and Frankfurt book fair! No time to enjoy being unknown and poor. These are the times when it’s OK being poor!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    27 August, 2011 at 18:45

  3. 5am is great project and I’m happy to see you continued it.
    I’m worried about JC. Comment above is telling me that maybe he is in a bad mood or what…
    I’ll be in Vienna on Monday and in Prague from Thursday until end of the week, so maybe if someone of you are there at the same time we could go for a beer?
    LM

    Igor Motl

    27 August, 2011 at 20:30

  4. JC is jocking. When he’s praising, that’s his ultimate joke!
    Why don’t you come to Slovenia, then?
    😉

    Borut Peterlin

    28 August, 2011 at 08:12

  5. Everyone relax…I’ve been away for a while so I haven’t been able to put pen to paper and respond to all of these BRILLIANT posts by our great friend and mentor Borut “two scars” Peterlin. I wasn’t joking when I said you were made to do this project of yours 5 am. What I should have added is that your commercial work has less appeal than you’re personal diary. That is a given. Just to clarify, no one gives a shit about which camera you use but you and you shouldn’t thank endlessly the work of Japanese engineers that made the Nikon D3 (jesus), you should thank the people around you that inspired you.

    Anyway…I have to run now as I’m switching one capital for another. Igor, I want to exhibit in Bosnia. I’m trying to organize now an event in Belgrade though I’m not sure if it will hold together. Let’s say you and I hijack this blog for a bit and try to plan for it. whatever Borut will post, we’ll just comment on my exhibition in Bosnia ok? Yeah…that’s a plan and a half if you ask me.

    Hope all you guys had a brilliant summer…Fotopub was great and I look already forward to come back to the region soon.

    Cheerio

    JC

    jc

    30 August, 2011 at 14:58

  6. And I’m back!!!
    Sorry Borut I couldn’t stop in Slovenia ’cause I was traveling by bus and through Slovenia at 2am.

    JC – I can organize it in my hometown – just say when. I can try in Banja Luka also but I’m not promising anything.
    You have my e-mail so we could discuss some about some detail over there.
    LM

    Igor Motl

    4 September, 2011 at 03:28

  7. JC, you don’t know Nikon D3s and Jesus don’t know either. I can help, though!
    Igor, no problem. You know my number, come anytime. If you’ll come at 5am, I might take your picture 🙂
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    4 September, 2011 at 18:47

  8. […] keep on appearing and I can’t finish it. Here is a multi-vision version from year 2009. And HERE is post with 5am images from Poland, Lithuania and Czech Republic. 45.756801 15.059260 […]


Leave a Reply

