TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Wet Plate Collodion – workshop results

with 12 comments

20111124_8360Wet Plate Collodion Process 20111124_8359Wet Plate Collodion Process 20111124_8358Wet Plate Collodion Process 20111124_8357

Wet Plate Collodion Process 20111124_835620111123_8342

This week I was at Academy of Fine Arts Novi Sad in Serbia, where they had Startfest festival, a workshop of pioneer photography techniques. Mentors Miša Keksenović and Uglješa Dapčević were teaching us Wet Plate Collodion technique and also demonstrated other techniques like Salt print, Albumen printing, ambrotype, cyanotype and digital negative. This Wet Plate Collodion is really complex process. Not only that chemicals are flammable, poisonous, cancerogenous, acid,… also characteristics of solutions are constantly changing. For example, young prepared collodion that is up to a week old demands much less exposure, but it’s much less contrasty and a collodion that is old about a month produce bests results, but it demands longer exposures. Of course you can add a chemical that I don’t know what’s an English word for it and you speed up the process of aging, but again loosing quality. We learn so much, but as I’ve warned Mišo and Uglješa, it is very possible that in a week or so I’ll ring to their doors, asking for help🙂

Above I’m publishing my Wet Collodion Process – Tintype photographs taken with 100y old Kodak Folding Brownie. HERE is a post where I got it. Below are images of students that were exhibited on a final show at the Academy. Mišo even created a lens from a single lens just to demonstrate how simple photography can be. Check an image on the slideshow bellow that have a lens taped on a wall. Fascinating indeed! Thank you Mišo, Uglješa, Ivana Tomanović & the Academy staff and students. It was epic as Lucija would say!

PS: Hoover over an image to read a caption. If you want to see larger image, right click and “open image in new tab”. I’ll organize their workshop also in Slovenia but don’t know when, probably in the beginning of next year. If you want to organize their workshop in your country, I’ll pass them your contact. You have mine on my site www.borutpeterlin.com

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very interesting. Thank you for sharing :-]

    redplace

    26 November, 2011 at 05:38

  2. this looks very cool…can’t wait to see the series you’ve put together. what will you do next with this knowledge!

    jc

    28 November, 2011 at 09:07

  3. My plan is to get rich and bring peace on Earth. I know it’s not much of a philosophy, but …. … don’t come following me!😉

    Oh, man. I have so many great ideas but I’ll need to work hard to bring them into existence. One of them is to make my own bellow camera. You know we behind an iron curtain, we have a great time😉

    Borut Peterlin

    28 November, 2011 at 10:45

  4. Sounds like a good plan my friend…anyway…I like what I see here. Curious to see more.

    jc

    28 November, 2011 at 16:47

  5. I love results you got, and it’s always nice to see Ivana’s face too:-)
    Can you tell me what was the background in studio you were using?
    Thanks,
    Milica

    Mili Walker Photography

    28 November, 2011 at 20:24

  6. I don’t know what backdrop they have. It’s sort of a textile with “stains”. It’s nice.

    Of course this is my expert’s advice. JC can tell you more about it. Ivana will give you numbers and article names. That’s so 80’s. Just go to a store and order it by characteristics as I named them.
    b5

    Borut Peterlin

    29 November, 2011 at 00:03

  7. These pictures are so old.🙂

    Igor Petrović

    29 November, 2011 at 16:31

  8. No they are not! Can you make a picture faster with digital camera then I make one with Wet Plate Collodion? Developing of the plate takes only 10-20 sec! HA!!!
    Greetings,
    B5

    PS: Not to ask when did you make the last time a print from your digital camera😉

    Borut Peterlin

    29 November, 2011 at 23:11

  9. “These pictures are so old. :)”
    That was a compliment.😉

    Igor Petrović

    30 November, 2011 at 13:41

  10. I know, I was joking. But you didn’t answer when it’s last time you print a digital picture🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    30 November, 2011 at 23:33

  11. Few months ago I printed digital pictures (plural! yeah!).
    Wedding…🙂

    Igor Petrović

    1 December, 2011 at 17:32

  12. […] there on the spot I want to learn this witchcraft of collodion. It took me more then a year to find Miša Keskenović, who introduced me into the craft and another year to have met Mark Osterman in person. At George […]


Leave a Reply

