TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New creative portrait – in Wet Plate Collodion technique

with 3 comments

Aljaž Vindiš photo by borutpeterlin.com

A portrait of Aljaž Vindiš ex-editor in chief of Tribuna student magazine. The concept is obvious for this portrait. He is ex-editor in chief so I portrayed him as a homeless person 🙂

Technically I had many problems, since my collodion is very young and I don’t know where my head is, so contrast was super low, but after I scanned it, I sort it out digitally for this publication. Actually it was meant to be published in Mladina weekly but editors hate it, so it will probably not be published :-/

I’ve shot it with Kodak Folding Brownie. It’s fun camera. It has a shallow depth of field since it is a format 10×15 cm tinplate, but it does not have a focusing ground glass. You just set up 3 meters and then set your camera on this distance. This two images were shot with f/16, exposure 1 min. Learning everyday in everyway 🙂

Aljaž Vindiš photo by borutpeterlin.com

PS: I think I know why do I have low-contrast. Preprepared collodion is a fast-food photography, how ever strange that sounds in digital era. I need to mix my own collodion from scratch by Mišo’s receipt. Only problem is that some substances are the same as in gun-powder (if I remember correctly).

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. there’s a huge potential is making these images with a tangible footprint.

    jc

    29 November, 2011 at 15:27

  2. I agree. I already have a concept, but I need a portrait 8×10 camera to make it happen. Very fun indeed. On the end this picture will be in Mladina weekly 🙂
    Great to hear a comment from you again. Igor 2 Times Prijedor is boycotting something.
    Rock and Roll,
    B5

    PS: meanwhile back in Ostrava…

    Borut Peterlin

    29 November, 2011 at 23:08

  3. Igor 1 Time Prijedor was bussy (http://gitarfestbl.com/), and second Igor is just lazy. 🙂

    Igor Petrović

    30 November, 2011 at 13:54


Leave a Reply

