TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Apologies for my worst portrait ever!

with 9 comments

For this, Friday’s issue of Mladina weekly I’ve made a creative portrait of Aljaž Vindiš ex-editor in chief of Tribuna student magazine with a wet plate collodion technique and everybody that I’ve showed this image loved it, execept editors of Mladina weekly. They asked me to submit also digital version of the image and I had only a crappy image that I’ve shot just as a test before my “real” portrait. I don’t want to fight, so I submitted certainly the worst portrait I’ve ever done, in good faith this will never go through, but against every expectation, this was chosen by editors. I apologize to people that follow my portraits in Mladina, I feel embarrassed that my name stands under this. Mladina made a redesign and devote a whole page for my portrait, but it is a square and I have many problems with it. I thought I found a solution, wet plate collodion definitely inspired me, but now this concept is rejected ruthlessly and I don’t have a new one. What I want’s to say is that I’ll try to reinvent my portraits, I’ll do my job, but it’s different to do a portrait if you do it as a job…

On other hand, if you want to hire me to do portraits in Wet Plate Collodion I’m available to hire. My contact is on my site.

Written by Borut Peterlin

1 December, 2011 at 11:18

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a shame. The Wet Plate Collodion version is beautiful.

    richardsguest

    1 December, 2011 at 11:58

  2. Tako pač je! Dobri projekti ustvarjalnih ljudi so vedno korak naprej. Traja nekaj časa, da jih sprejeme raja.

    a5

    1 December, 2011 at 12:57

  3. being embarrassed is a waste of mental energy. Anybody that knows anything about photography knows that there is a gap sometimes between the ‘personal taste’ and editors choice. Im not saying people should just accept it but sometimes its just the way it is.. Different editors different tastes. If you find your unique way in the wet colodium as you did with digital im sure will see a w.colodium portrait in mladina soon. Take care,m

    M.Licar

    1 December, 2011 at 15:54

  4. Thx for support. I have a new concept. Very different as it used to be. This time I’ll submit only one portrait🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    1 December, 2011 at 17:23

  5. I told you it is too old.🙂

    Igor Petrović

    1 December, 2011 at 17:30

  6. This is no your worst portrait ever…it really isn’t. Take it easy skippy…you’ve got a good thing going and if you remember what Kolar used to say ( because I certainly don’t ) …well anyway…I know it’s not much of a philosophy but FUCK OFF…

    jc

    1 December, 2011 at 18:19

  7. Compare it to a portrait I’ve done in the beginning of my “portraying career” and you’ll realize how low did I go:
    http://borutpeterlin.com/#/STORIES/2006-2011%20Creative%20portraits/44

    Borut Peterlin

    1 December, 2011 at 22:47

  8. if you keep going low you’ll eventually reach the top. keep going my friend!

    jc

    2 December, 2011 at 16:56

  9. Borut, nobody will remember your “bad” portraits except your self.

    Главу горе🙂

    jc, sorry for Russian.🙂

    Igor Petrović

    3 December, 2011 at 12:24


Leave a Reply

