TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Wet Plate Collodion photography in the morning at 4C (39F)

with 4 comments

This morning it was temperature 4C (39F) and it was perfect to try out how does Wet Plate Collodion process work at this temperature. I had an alcohol burner (not my liver) with which I could heat up chemicals if I would need to, but it was surprisingly not needed. I did prolonged time of sensitizing a plate from 3min to 6 min and developing was a bit longer, but that was the only difference of usual procedure. I photographed an old apple tree that was sunbathing.

I used my Kodak Folding Brownie At my first exposure I didn’t fixed lens properly and it was out of focus. I repeated the shot, but I kind of like the un-fucused picture just as well. This two pics are tintypes then I repeat the shot, but I poured collodion on glass plate. I’m attaching a picture as a glass negative looks on a black velvet. That principle of backing a collodion negative with a black background it’s called an ambrotype. Check this negative bellow, half it’s on a black velvet and half is on a white paper. A pure magic, I tell you!

Written by Borut Peterlin

7 January, 2012 at 23:02

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These are really beautiful. I love your technique!

    redplace

    8 January, 2012 at 03:55

  2. Thank you! Still learning every day. Today I realized that perhaps I need to shorten my developing time from 20 sec to 13 sec. It’s great.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    8 January, 2012 at 16:39

  3. I like it, good work

    meri007

    9 January, 2012 at 10:22

  4. The bottom image on the left is my favorite.

    BoJo Photo

    29 January, 2012 at 23:45


Leave a Reply

