TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Oak tree in Wet Plate Collodion technique

with 5 comments

This morning I photographed an oak tree. Horizontal image is tintype taken with Kodak Folding Brownie and vertical one is with 5×7″ view camera. I’m not satisfied with vertical image, I had only one glass plate left, if I would have three I would make it much better. It was cold 2C, but Wet Plate Collodion chemicals were working a bit slower, but just as nice. I love it! I can’t get enough of this “hands on photography”!

Tomorrow I’m going to visit Josip Pelikan’s studio. “The studio is without a doubt one of the best preserved luxurious glass photographic ateliers in Europe with original equipment used by the famous Slovene photographer Josip Pelikan (1885–1977). The 19th-century glass photographic studio on the second floor makes daylight photography possible even today.”

Then I’ll visit two camera collectors in Celje and in Maribor Dragiša Modrinjak, who established a photo-museum. I hope he’ll introduce me to this lady. On the end I’ll visit an exhibition of Alenka Sottler in Maribor. So… stay tuned & don’t forget to rate, if you like the images above 🙂

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good, it should be Wet Plate Collodion cold photography technique, what will happen in snow conditions?

    Anonymous

    12 January, 2012 at 16:05

  2. your work keeps getting better and better! in fact i would like to buy one of your portraits.

    jc

    12 January, 2012 at 16:24

  3. @ JC! I’ve send you a portrait of Lučka. You didn’t received it? It was sent in December already! It was a really good inkjet print. I hope post service in Belgium is better then in UK, although this sounds like Royal Mail. This work will get better, no doubt. It’s OK, but I know it could be even better, just it’s damn hard to make all steps right. Especially outdoor. I’m also experimenting with tilting a film plane and I quite like the effect, but I didn’t had any glass plates to preserve my impressions.

    @Anonymous,
    I have an alcohol burner and I could heat up chemicals above flame, but above 0C it’s OK, obviously.

    Borut Peterlin

    12 January, 2012 at 17:14

  4. I love this one!! I think you have to find proper subjects for this kind of medium and it is getting better indeed.

    Ciril

    19 January, 2012 at 15:31

  5. I love the images and I think it is awesome that you are really delving into the process learning all you can.

    BoJo Photo

    29 January, 2012 at 23:37


Leave a Reply

