TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Workshop of Wet Plate Collodion process in Trieste

with 10 comments

Bottomline, a music group from Novo mesto, Slovenia. Photo: Borut Peterlin


Today I’ve done portraits of a music band Bottomline from Novo mesto, Slovenia. It was a first time after I don’t know how many years  that I went to take pictures without taking a digital camera with me. I took my 13x18cm Plaubel camera for Wet Plate Collodion and a 4×5″ camera on normal B/W film. If I’m honest I forgot a digital camera at home. Is this normal? Anyhow, here are results. Dušan Smodej was helping me a lot and he’s soon abandoning his digital camera and his Leica M3 and start real photography🙂

I’m excited to announce that together with my mentor for Wet Plate Collodion photograhy, Miša Keskenović we have a workshop in Trieste. It’s starting this Sunday, 6.5.2012 at 9:30 and it’s going on whole day. We’ll go through all aspects of Wet plate Collodion process, from mixing chemicals, cleaning plates, exposing, developing and varnishing a plate. All the secrets revealed for only Price 150,00€ and that includes also working material. More info with Dr. Photo or at email info@doctorphoto.net . Workshop is limited to 12 people and it’s almost full, so hurry!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Simply superb. Real photographs from Scott Archers days’. Lovely quality, you can almost taste the chemicals.

    John Smith

    4 May, 2012 at 00:05

  2. Thx John, chemicals are still on my hands, since a glove got torn and before I noticed I had black fingers, but that’s a trade mark of 19th Century photographers🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    4 May, 2012 at 00:09

  3. love it, great job!!

    valerijazabret

    4 May, 2012 at 03:56

  4. so comforting to know there are still real photographers out there. good job!

    alessandro ciapanna

    4 May, 2012 at 10:19

  5. Thx Alessandro! I’ve just noted that in last four months I shot about 60 films (sheet and roll films) and the folder that keeps my films wears number 27, so you can imagine how many films I’ve shot in my life. Yes, rock &roll!

    Borut Peterlin

    4 May, 2012 at 20:56

  6. Congrat!!!! Your work is fantastic!!!!!

    pingoud

    8 May, 2012 at 01:00

  7. Your work is the BEST! WOW! How do you do it…oh wait…you told us 1000 times! AND NOW I WANT MY PRIZE

    jc

    8 May, 2012 at 07:59

  8. don’t be jealous JC. I know, you don’t want to start a blog or a FB, so that there would not be some kind of JC with his sort of comments. But we love your comments, just please invest some sarcasm. You have to try harder🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    10 May, 2012 at 09:41

  9. Ever since the crisis my team of writers have come up short. I’m sorry and I know it’s no excuse but it is difficult to be more and more sarcastic. Sarcasm is expensive.

    jc

    11 May, 2012 at 14:18

  10. […] I was making them. HERE is the link to the post how I’ve done the portrait of Boris Cavazza. HERE is the link to photo-session with Bottomline. I need to run to sleep, tomorrow I’m meeting a curator and […]


Leave a Reply

