TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Cover page of Mladina weekly 22/2012

with 4 comments

Let me publish the new cover of Mladina weekly, just so you don’t get an impression I discard my digital equipment. Perhaps it’s not very obvious to a foreigner, but the shape of the orange is as the silhouette of Slovenia. The text of the cover goes that after 20 years of transition Slovenia is like a squeezed orange.

I was working on this on my own and I didn’t had a model, so I dyed my hand black and with the other I was triggering the camera with autofocus. Complicating I tell you. Because of this my wrist is not black, I couldn’t rib it with dye.
Photo: Borut Peterlin
Graphic design: Damjan Ilić
Creative director: Robert Botteri

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ok, ok…i’ll leave a comment…c’mon guys…borut is doing this for us!

    jc

    7 June, 2012 at 09:26

  2. by the way…if you were going to dye your hand…why not do it all the way? I’m not sure I understand the significance of having a black hand.

    jc

    7 June, 2012 at 09:28

  3. JC, thx for your comment, but you haven’t read the post. I was ribbing my hand with only one hand and I couldn’t dye my wrist. Plus I didn’t thought my wrist will be in the frame. First I made a shot without black dye and it wasn’t very appealing. It’s also true that my hands are stained from AgNO3 while working with Wet Plate Collodion, so graphic designer suggested black hand. And it’s a good symbol in this context, don’t you think?

    Borut Peterlin

    8 June, 2012 at 06:43

  4. How much longer do we need to see this?

    jc

    18 June, 2012 at 13:21


Leave a Reply

