TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

And Peterlin, this is how you became a photographer…

with one comment

This is probably the first post on my blog that will not have any photographs. With intention…

Some time ago I was driving my friend from a hospital and she was explaining me how it is in this extreme situations, when you need to fight with your illness and work hard to maintain your own self.

I told her my experience. Few days before my 11th birthday I had an accident, when a chidren’s experimentation with a gasoline turned out into catastrophe and I got severe burns, third, worst possible stage. It was not even clear if I will survive. I was so weak I couldn’t walk few meters without fainting, so I was only lying on the bed and watching out of window. The view was not much, just few trees, but this was enough. In tree branches I started seeing shapes. At first there were simple shapes like triangles, a moon, a house, but then this kaleidoscope of images started to project all sorts of stories that were keep on coming through whole day and especially through those long, lonely, damn nights. That game was the only one that I had and I became very good at it.

When I told this to my friend, how I managed in this battle for my own sanity, she aded the most obvious conclusion, that never occurred to me; “And Peterlin, this is how you became a photographer!”

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

To je najverjetneje prvi zapis na blogu, ki ne bo imel nobene fotke! Z namenom…

Enkrat, kar nekaj časa nazaj sem peljal svojo prijateljico iz bolnice in mi je razlagala kako je v teh mejnih stanjih duha, ko se moraš boriti za svojo bit, ko najbolj samoumevne reči, to da si kar si, niso samoumevne in se moraš zelo potruditi, da sploh ohraniš svoj jaz.

Povedal sem ji, da imam sorodno izkušnjo. Par dni pred mojim 11. rojstnim dnevom, sem imel nesrečo, ko je otroško igranje z bencinom sprevrglo v katastrofo in sem dobil opekline tretje, najhujše stopnje in je bilo vprašanje ali bom sploh preživel. Bil sem tako šibak, da nisem mogel narediti par korakov, ne da bi se onesvestil, tako sem samo ležal in gledal skozi okno. Razgled ni bil bogvekaj, le nekaj krošenj, pripravljenih na zimo, a to mi je zadostovalo. Namreč v vejah sem začel videvati like. Najprej preproste polkroge, potem lune, pse, pajke, kar naenkrat se mi je pred očmi začel vrteti kalejdoskop podob, ki so se vrtele podnevi in vse tiste dolge, samotne, preklete noči. Ta igra je bila edina popestritev, ki sem jo imel in v njej sem postal zelo dober.

Ko sem povedal svoji prijateljici, kako sem se sam znašel v tej bitki za lasten jaz, mi je odgovorila z najbolj logičnim zaključkom. “In Peterlin, tako si ti postal fotograf!”

Written by Borut Peterlin

17 July, 2012 at 07:14

Posted in Photography

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pravijo, da slika pove toliko kot tisoč besed.
    Tvoje besede povedo več kot tisoč slik…
    Borut ostani samosvoj, ostano svobodomiselen!

    Janez

    17 July, 2012 at 09:45


Leave a Reply

