TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

My weirdest project

with 4 comments

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


In the beginning of this year 2012, I borrowed a large format camera Linhof Technika and soon I fall in love in this kind of work. I decided I want to buy one and in April I bought two 4×5″ cameras. HERE is a link to the post. My first resolution was to shoot about 50 films and make every possible mistake that you can do with large format camera. I was photographing my children, but not as much as I wanted to, so I decided I’ll make portraits of trees. And not just any kind of trees, only an apple trees. I’m publishing just few of them, since I never bothered to scan them all.

This project started as a joke, as a topic that is easy accessible, doesn’t complain and gives you a good excuse for a bike ride, but with a surprise I learned that there is a potential in this topic. Every tree is different, of course, but if you look closely, you see that a tree is reflecting it’s owner’s personality. I’ve photographed neglected trees, farm apple trees, neat garden apple trees and so on. One apple tree looked like a bush. A farmer cut it above it’s roots, but tree didn’t die and now it looks like a mess. I didn’t continue with this project, because I realized that black and white technique is totally inappropriate. It should be either in full color to emphasize the tree and not a photographer or in Wet Plate Collodion technique to emphasize the photographer. By the end of the weekend I’ve learned more about people then about apple trees.

The purpose of this exercise was to establish a routine in working with large format camera and it was a success. Now it’s August and I’ve shot more then 200 plan films and I feel very comfortable with the camera and it’s workflow.

I’ve used my ShenHao 4×5″ camera for my work as a photojournalist. For weekly magazine Mladina I do portraits that accompany interviews in the magazine. Here are few examples:

27_194-Miha Kovač-borutpeterlin.com

27_191-rajko-pirnat-borutpeterlin.com27_187 gregor virant borutpeterlin.com

Written by Borut Peterlin

13 August, 2012 at 00:54

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sem prav zastopil? Velki format s kolesom? A to naložiš na prikolico?😀

    miran

    13 August, 2012 at 08:53

  2. I love your “weird” project, thanks for sharing!
    And I strongly believe that it is those kind of projects, “out of the box”- kind of things that we sometimes do, that helps us develop ourselves in whatever we are usually in to.
    Love your large format portraits, wonderful work, my fave is the first one, the light and the DOF is magic!

    LightHouseBlues

    13 August, 2012 at 09:14

  3. MIran, moja 4×5″ ShenHao je zložljiva in jo je lažje prenašati kot mojega digitalca. Imam pa sistem, da lahko vse za kolodijsko fotografijo sam nosim. Vse od temne škatle, kemikalij, banjc, vode, stojala, kamere,… Pač mentaliteta dokumentarnega fotografa🙂

    Thank you Marie, thinking I’m going to shoot the air it’s been very liberating indeed! I fall in love also with Mamiya C220 and I’ll buy C330 tomorrow and I see you are also cursed by analog photography and your Hasselblad🙂
    Rock&Roll!

    Borut Peterlin

    13 August, 2012 at 11:28

  4. I know from experience how the attempt at one project can divert you in a totally different direction.
    This minutiae of photography can lead us into exciting and unpredictable adventures.

    Borut, some beautiful photography in your work portraits.

    John Fink Jr.

    14 August, 2012 at 00:59


Leave a Reply

