TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Wet Plate Collodion as a new year card

with 8 comments

I love ambrotypes and for this year’s new year cards I wanted to send out a proper ambrotypes on glass plates. But how can do you copy an ambrotype? I came to a conclusion that the best way would be to make a slide reproduction of a wetplate, insert the slide reproduction in an enlarger and expose a wetplate. Sort of what I was doing for a portrait of Milan Erič. Then I’ve read a post on Petapixel that my main man Tony Richards is photographing a computer screen with his wetplate camera! In wetplate community there was a WTF reaction, but I commented it, that there is a concept for every technique and for new year cards this is the perfect technique! IMacs’s screen is 30x50cm and I downsize the projected picture to the size of a plate that is about 4×5″, so no pixel can be viewed with bare eye.
Happy new year everybody!

I took a landscape image and transformed it into a cool wetplate

I took a landscape image and did the following:

projected it on a computer screen

projected it on a computer screen. On the right is a gelatin filter to cover the screen during developing. I have a darkroom with Internet access😉

Set my view camera

Set my view camera

Did the wetplate ritual and here it is! From a gay landscape image into a cool wetplate in few easy steps!

Did the wetplate ritual and here it is! From a gay landscape image into a cool wetplate in few easy steps!

20121228_8982

The best thing is that exposure doesn’t vary much so you can do a wetplate for a specific friend!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. what a way cool idea……………thats wci as opposed to a wtf. innovation………….thanks for sharing that idea….

    Graham

    29 December, 2012 at 11:11

  2. Tony Richards saw this idea somewhere on Internet and share it with our community and now I used it for this practical concept. WCI rulles if shared😉

    Borut Peterlin

    29 December, 2012 at 11:19

  3. Looking real good Borut, your friends/family are going to love those.
    I’ll be shooting some extra special business cards this week. On tin though as easier to carry in a wallet etc.
    Love your blog as always.
    Tony

    Tony

    29 December, 2012 at 13:12

  4. Tintype business card! Ha, that’s a guaranty that they will call you back! Fantastic! ha, ha… this is such a fun! Thank you Tony!

    Borut Peterlin

    29 December, 2012 at 13:28

  5. Very creative! Love it!!
    Happy New Year to you and yours!
    Marie

    LightHouseBlues

    30 December, 2012 at 18:02

  6. Great idea. I really love the business card idea!

    John Fink Jr.

    31 December, 2012 at 23:36

  7. Borut! Tony got the idea from me, Head Collodion Bastard! I was the “somewhere on the Internet” and I first posted it on Artur’s FB page and all hell broke loose! This is what started Artur getting pissed at me!

    Gerald Figal

    18 January, 2013 at 03:49

  8. Gerald, my main man, you know what that means? That you’re objectively responsible that I signed out from Artur’s group. I had enough of the righteous preacher opening a FB group, just to explain everybody how horrible and wrong they are!
    I must thank you for that!
    Gerald for president!
    B5

    PS: Did you ever saw Artur publishing any plates of his own? I haven’t…

    Borut Peterlin

    18 January, 2013 at 08:52


Leave a Reply

