TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Darkroom topshit tricks – split toning with sulphide and selenium toner

with 3 comments

I’ve done a video upon my experiment on split toning technique with sulphide and selenium toner. I’ve also record myself doing a selenium toning, but that part is recorded with such a bad English that I’ve decided to klip it out. When you have a split toned print with sulphide toner, you can either keep neutral gray of normal silver or you can dip it in selenium toner and get purplish tone in shadows. Again, with Foma Tone paper, selenium works as witnessed, with Ilford warmtone paper works in chocolate brown and with Efke Varycon paper goes into cold blue tone. It depends.

Concerning the purchase of the print, I’m selling this one in edition of 36 prints for 50 EUR each, so if you need a gift for someone, send me an email.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What an amazing video. I saw it this morning under the sunny skies of Brussels whilst eating my breakfast. You could say that I usually start my mornings as such…without the video. You’re a brilliant professor because you have all the answers and you explain quite well. I love the way you fast-forward while leaving the original sound on ( maybe you can put some elevator music for those sequences ) and last but certainly not least…odorless toners are GAY? I love it. No explanation why…it’s just gay.

    jc

    18 February, 2013 at 10:38

  2. Great great video Borut! Thank you very much for doing this, and the copies you did was wonderful!!
    My new darkroom will be finished any day now, and my evening reading is two books on lith printing and toning, so this was perfect to see it irl…
    I can’t wait to start… 🙂

    Marie

    18 February, 2013 at 23:54

  3. Oh, how I like to be back here, and with JC on the same page… no matter is it gay or not… I love it.
    Hello my cyber friend!!!

    Igor Motl

    1 March, 2013 at 01:09


Leave a Reply

