TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Salt print process with the help of Potassium Bichromate

with 7 comments

_DSC4505

Salt print process was invented by Henry Fox Talbot in 1839 and it’s known as a very low contrast printing technique. From The Book of Alternative Photographic Processes I’ve learned a technique to chemically raise a contrast of a salt print. You add a drop or two of potassium bichromate to a 28ml of sensitizer and heat it up to about 40C, expose it in the shadow, best under daylight UV skylight and then do a 5 minute prewash in a hot (cca 40C) distilled water with another 3 drops of potassium bichromate. It does raise a contrast, but it also cause speckling so you need to work with heated solutions and expect that it will not work the first time. Check how many test prints I’ve done until I figure it all out…

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful results! I actually like some of those test prints; At least what I can see of them. That is me though, I enjoy some of the imperfections in the testing.

    jake

    30 April, 2013 at 12:29

  2. Fantastic!!!! I love your work!!!!

    pingoud

    30 April, 2013 at 19:36

  3. They look nice!

    bhav

    16 May, 2013 at 06:42

  4. […] that cost 70 EUR if I would not see the effect that it makes. I showed him my little tricks, that I’ve mentioned on my blog already. Oh, the best thing that I’ve learned from Kal is how to seal a tent Eskimo Quickfish 3 to be […]

  5. Does your internet site have any contact web site? I’m having difficulty locating this but, I’d like to shoot you a message. I’ve acquired some ideas for your website you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great internet site and I anticipate seeing this expand over time.

    hofwkezk@yahoo.co.uk

    19 February, 2014 at 04:04

  6. Good day! I simply want to give a huge thumbs up for the great data you have got here on this post. I can be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

    qvnbejbngg@yahoo.com

    19 February, 2014 at 20:02

  7. Thank you, I have recently been looking for information approximately this topic for a long time and yours is the greatest I’ve found out till now. However, what about the bottom line? Are you sure concerning the source?

    harilbpzk@live.com

    24 February, 2014 at 06:47


Leave a Reply

