TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Video teaser about the new theater performance of Anton Podbevšek Teater

leave a comment »

Dear topshit readers of topshit blog,
I do keep focus of this blog on wet plate collodion process, but I’m receiving many questions sort of. OK, you do this 19th Century mambo jambo photography, but what you do for a living? On these questions I politely explain that I tried my career as an artist, I tried as a bureaucrat, I did my best as a carpenter, but only until a friend of mine introduce me to the art of human trafficking (Slovenia’s border is EU’s Schengen border), I finally have enough resources, to devote my time to wet plate collodion process and other 19th Century photographic techniques.

But seriously, since I’m “fortunate” enough to live in Slovenia, that is a micro market, I’ve been forced to learn just about everything that you can do with a camera. One of my three regular clients is also Anton Podbevšek Teater for which I’m mainly doing photography, but since cameras are recording also video, I started to play with that just as well. Now I’m hired to make also video teasers that are promoting theater performances on youtube, facebook and other social networking. This is my best video teaser so far. Words are really important, but even if you don’t speak the proper language, you will get the idea from visuals and music. I devoted extra attention to artist’s statements. I’ve made like 15 minutes of interviews and then I’ve carefully chosen 3 x 30 seconds of statements that perfectly fit visuals.

So the point of this post is that if you take an extra effort, you have another product to sell and support your behaviour disorder that wet plate collodion definitely is.

But bottom line is that this theater performance can not be missed and they have a show on 11th,12th,13th of October 2013. At 20.00. In Anton Podbevšek Teater.

Written by Borut Peterlin

9 October, 2013 at 09:24

Leave a Reply

