TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Flower Power exhibition in Helsinki

with one comment

.
Few weeks ago I participated at a group exhibition Flower Power in Kallio Kunsthalle in Helsinki. The director and founder of the gallery is Petri Saarikko with whom we were working together at Fabrica, the research center of communication of United Colors of Benetton. We were there in years 2000/01. I’ve made this short video about the documentation of the exhibition. I hope you will like it. The gallery is known for it’s non-mainstream exhibitions and it’s alternative representations of artwork. I’m saying they are post-postmodern gallery.

In fact I had two exhibition. Beside the one in the kunsthalle, the second was more candid. Petri printed my Great Depression pictures and we pin them on their pinboard and put them the window of Elokolo. Elokolo is an organisation that among other things also offers support to people who became unemployed. In the morning when they are offering free meal, they invited me to give a speech about my work, highlighting Great Depression project.

I had a lovely time in Helsinki. I met Tarmo, the main wet plate president from Estonia. In Helsinki we did a crash course on wet plate negative and salt printing. I tell you, wet plate negative is going to be the new topshit thing! Tintypes are so tenties…

Written by Borut Peterlin

5 March, 2014 at 23:56

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful, flower s to the people right on!

    Louis Dallara

    10 March, 2014 at 16:19


Leave a Reply

