TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New plates for my Great Depression project

leave a comment »

Great Depression 1912-13

Regular readers of my topshit blog – also known as topshit readers – are familiar with my Great Depression documentary photography project. Few days ago I was in Vegrad, another industrial giant that got bankrupt and left thousands of desperate people behind. Their greedy and corrupt CEO Hilda Tovšak is in jail at the moment, but she have much better times that all those migrant workers from Bosnia and Serbia…

I had disgusting problems with fog. I didn’t know why until I didn’t calibrate my pH checker and realized that it was showing 0.3pH less than it should, so my silverbath was actually 4.7pH so it was fogging like it’s English morning! I didn’t panic I adjusted everything that I could, but since I didn’t had nitric acid with me and I was reluctant to acidify silverbath with glacial acid, I was still having fog. But that fog was wipeable so, -No winter for Eskimos- I continued to work. In three hours that I had at disposal I’ve managed to make three plates. On the end of the day it was a jolly good day!

PS: If you want to qualify as a topshit reader of topshit blog, you might see this short video about the Great Depression project.

Leave a Reply

