TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New plates from The Great Depression series

with 3 comments

Screenshot 2014-09-30 13.52.30


Last week I was again working on my project The Great Depression. This time was a bit different motivation. I wasn’t looking for new motives, but I was repeating shots I’ve done before. At the moment all my plates are exhibited in Lithuania at Kaunas Photo Festival, but two galleries asked me if I can exhibit The Great Depression plates, The Gallery of Contemporary Art in Celje and almost at the same time, Photon Gallery wants to exhibit my plates at ArtMarket Budapest.

What to do, what to do… No problem, I went again to Novoles company where I started my project almost three years ago and repeat few frames that I took in the past. Surprise, surprise my wet plate knowledge advanced and I’ve made such a beautiful plates, I can not believe it! Well, here they are, you be the judge of them.

Today when I was varnishing them, I’ve received an email from a very important museum, that I can not name just yet, that they want to buy few plates from the project for their permanent collection. YES! After all the hard work and I’m finally beyond the tipping point! Mom, I’ve made it!!!

Great Depression 1912-13 Great Depression 1912-13 Great Depression 1912-13

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am really happy for you Borut. YOU DESERVE IT!!!!

    Ana Tornel

    30 September, 2014 at 15:58

  2. Great Borut! Congratulations!

    Christian Klant

    30 September, 2014 at 16:02

  3. Congratulations!!

    Terry Behm

    30 September, 2014 at 20:19


Leave a Reply

