TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Corn fields of my childhood (wet plate collodion, carbon print process)

with 3 comments



I grew up in this valley and every September I loved to photograph corn fields. It’s something elegant and tranquil in a field of corn. It was a sunny afternoon and I had three plates ready and subbed with albumen, so I give it a go. The negative was done in the first attempt and although the density was not as thick as it could be, due to loosing quite a lot of developer (containing silver), but that was easily compensated by the second development after fixing, the redevelopment. I just had to redevelop longer, increasing the layer of silver and busting the contrast.

Screenshot 2014-10-10 10.34.49Screenshot 2014-10-10 10.36.12Here are two beautiful prints, I hope you will like them and as it is a tradition on this blog, I’m putting these two prints on ebay auction, starting from 0,99 US$. The auction will end in three days, because I’ve learned that my customers are readers of this blog and it doesn’t matter if the auction is listed for a week or only for few days. As a professional artist (and a father of two daughters) I need to sell my work or get a “proper” job, so thus the aggressive promotion. Things are going good, great, much better than I’ve expected.

IMG_0132

This week Art Photo Budapest fair is happening and this fair is the only international fair in Eastern Europe dedicated to art photography. Gallery Photon is presenting me in a very generous way. I’ve been told that this event is a milestone in my career. Tomorrow at 3pm I was invited in the panel to discuss art market in East Europe. As one of my presented cases it will be also this blog and my experience with ebay auctions.

I have this feeling that I’m on the right track and although I know I will not do these ebay auctions forever, it’s a brilliant marketing tool!

733_01_borut_peterlinMartin Parr gave me the best advice ever! Do whatever you do and keep on doing it until people could not afford to ignore you any longer!
…COULD NOT IGNORE YOU ANY LONGER!

Isn’t that a brilliant advice? We artists have a very long history of being ignored and some of us even cut their ear off! Well I’m not cutting my ear or getting a “real job”. I enjoy what I do and thank you for all the attention. It truly helps to know that people have a harder and harder times to keep on ignoring me!

PS: My email box if stacked with questions about the processes I’m doing. I’ve answered some, but most of them I just can’t. SORRY! Please write the question here, as a comment and I will do much better job clarifying some details of the process. You can write a question anonymously, no problem.

A carbon print , format 10x12" (25x30cm) in a mat, size 40x50cm (16"x20"). Edition 1/12.

A carbon print , format 10×12″ (25x30cm) in a mat, size 40x50cm (16″x20″). Edition 1/12.

An albumen print toned with gold, format 10x12" (25x30cm) in a mat format 40x50cm (16"x20"). Edition 2/12.

An albumen print toned with gold, format 10×12″ (25x30cm) in a mat format 40x50cm (16″x20″). Edition 2/12.


Screenshot 2014-10-10 10.20.52

Screenshot 2014-10-10 10.20.39

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. maestro!

    arwintiemens

    10 October, 2014 at 11:04

  2. Borut, I very much enjoy your work and your work process.
    Good luck at the Art Faire.

    johnfinkjrphotography

    10 October, 2014 at 17:23

  3. Thank you John, Arwin & the Gang. The fair went OK. Well, it was the first time that the photo art fair was organized beside the Budapest’s contemporary art fair, so collectors were not really buying photography, but that said I’ve met some very influential people and I’ve received great feedback. In November I’m participating in another very important group show in Budapest, so brick on brick…

    Borut Peterlin

    17 October, 2014 at 12:52


Leave a Reply

