TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

I developed a new behavior disorder – Land Rover 109, year 1972

with 6 comments



Last week I’ve bought a “new” car, Land Rover 109, Station Wagon, model year 1972. It used to be imported in Yugoslavia (RIP) in 1982, serving as a firefighter’s car and in 1999 was a gift for a fiftieth birthday of a car mechanic which restored it entirely but never registrate it, so it was standing in a garage for last fifteen years. Last week I’ve bought it. In two weeks I’m turning forty and this is a gift and a tool I bought myself. Otherwise I hate cars. If I could I would rather spend hours on bicycle or running to do my travelings, but I can’t. If I need a car, I wanted to buy a car that is not boring and let’s face it, cars are boring as hell! They all look the same and the mantra of consumerism is “comfort über alles”. Guess what? COMFORT IS OVERRATED! And on top of that comfort is booooooooring to death!!!!!!

An ambrotype format 10x12" (25-30cm).

An ambrotype format 10×12″ (25-30cm).

A collector asked me if I’m selling ambrotypes, I don’t, because they are unique and I want to leave behind me a work that will tell a story. If I sell an ambrotype, that image will be on somebody’s wall and I and anybody else will never see it again. That is one of the reason I’ve chosen wet plate negative in my artistic career. But on the end of the day, I am a professional artist, I do this for a living, it’s not my weekend hobby, so I need to sell my artwork too. So I’ve been thinking and I came to this business model.

When I’m making my collodion landscape plates, I make two or three plates of the same motif and so if a person want’s to buy an ambrotype from me, he or she have two options:
Either pick it up from a gallery (that I’ve haven’t set up yet) and pay for the full price of an ambrotype 10×12″ that will be US $999.
Or the second option is that she or he can pre order a plate from me, so when I go next time out to do my art, I make another plate for the buyer. In this case the buyer can not choose a plate of his choice, it can only take the one I’ve made that day or decline it, no questions asked. The price in that case is less than half of it, US $399.

Sounds like a good and fair game right? Yes, I know, I would rather not be in a position that I need to sell my ambrotypes, but if you develop two habits like myself, you need to find a way to feed them!

My email is borutpeterlin@gmail.com and my website is www.borutpeterlin.com

PS: In my life I had several cars. They were all boring to death, except my very first car, Renault 4.

A portrait of myself from year 1998 by Jože Suhadolnik.  That's my first car, Renault 4. The sticker was real and it goes:  THIS CAR IS DRIVEN BY: and my signature.

A portrait of myself from the year 1998 by Jože Suhadolnik. That’s my first car, Renault 4. The sticker was real and it goes:
THIS CAR IS DRIVEN BY: and my signature.

 

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cilf! Love it. Nice car! Those old Defenders are the best Landrover made.

    realitysosubtle

    1 November, 2014 at 11:50

  2. I agree. I must admit I was expecting about 20% of performance that this car (still) delivers! At the moment it doesn’t have tires for mud, but I haven’t drove the slope that would be too difficult for the car. Expect some really crazy collodion art with it’s help!

    Borut Peterlin

    1 November, 2014 at 12:03

  3. […] the last video I’ve made an ambrotype and today I’m shipping it to the buyer from Canada. I bought a […]

  4. Borut, really impressed by your art, and most of all, how your “ancient techniques” merge with your life. Well, let me say, this good old way of living/taking photo should be a standard for everyone interested in living the moment.
    I founded your website looking for old techniques: I’m an hobbyst in photography and in my everyday life I work in a software company, always in a hurry. Thank you, your “karma” and yuor beatiful work really gave me a lot of good vibrations!

    Ciao,

    Marco

    Marco

    31 December, 2014 at 19:22

  5. Marco, thank you for your comment, I appreciate it a lot!

    Borut Peterlin

    2 January, 2015 at 23:16

  6. […] it got into my engine and the car lost all the power. I had to call my neighbour to winch me home again. Look at the bottom of the […]


Leave a Reply

