TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

A wooden box for an ambrotype I’ve sold

with 2 comments



In the last video I’ve made an ambrotype and today I’m shipping it to the buyer from Canada. I bought a wooden plank to make a box for it, but few hours later I’ve made a decent looking box. OK, the hinges are way too big and not appropriate, but for the first box I’ve made since secondary school, it’s pretty good. The finish is beeswax. In my home I only have a circular saw sandpaper and few screws, but since I’ve decided that I’ll make more boxes like this and use them as a standard packaging of my ambrotypes, I already ordered six of them at my neighbor, who’s a proper carpenter.

Written by Borut Peterlin

6 November, 2014 at 17:57

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. After u see the change of the shipping price you will buy thiner planks…😉

    matjazz

    6 November, 2014 at 19:38

  2. Thank you for your concern, but I could not make a good and safe package under 2kg, so I will pay 8 EUR in a category 2-5kg, so no big deal. My ambrotypes are topshit and everything else must follow😉

    Borut Peterlin

    7 November, 2014 at 08:57


Leave a Reply

