TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Topshit Photo Safari was a success!

with 4 comments



Dear readers of my blog, I’m back! Not that I’ve left anywhere, but I was working really hard to make my workshop happen. I organised a five days workshop, two days working outdoor and three days working indoor. We covered wet plate collodion negatives, albumen printing, salt printing and collodion chloride printing. After that I had another two days of individual workshop on carbon printing. Very intense indeed!

I’ve decided to set up our headquarters in Sitarjeva hiša, a house from 1886 and was abandoned for last 17 years. It did not had a running water or electricity, but with the generous help of Anže Grabeljšek, Sanja Gorišek, Nastja Frey Gorše and municipality of Dolenjske Toplice, we sorted things out! I had many concerns and I had two back up options, but the house with it’s charisma is destined to host more art events! In fact I’m exhibiting new work there, so let me invite you to the exhibition of my panoramas on 27th of August at 7pm.

Expect more topshit events like this! For now I’m going to organise a workshop with a theme: Tribute to Ansel Adams. I’m planning a workshop on analog photography, with medium and large format cameras, for about 8 people. We will do rafting, camping, off roading and developing contact prints. We will explain the zone system, have a talk in the middle of forrest about Adams’s work and legacy… It will be 4th and 5th of September. The price for it is 250 EUR and includes cameras, films, paper, chemistry and food while camping. (Če razumeš slovensko, si avtomatsko zaslužiš konkreten popust) I know it’s short notice, but I have friends who already booked, so only few spaces are available, so we will not wait for you, but don’t worry, I will have more workshops. More topshit workshops is what we need! I will make an official notice in the following days. My email is borutpeterlin@gmail.com

I’m talking also with Nikon, we might make a photo-safari trip on digital photography during wine picking season. And I’m thinking to organise a collodion new year celebration in some cottage deep in the forrest of Slovenia (or is it properly written Slovakia?!?) What do you think, is it topshit enough idea?

Anyway, please check the images bellow and read captions and remember…
Topshit does happens!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow that looked super fun Borut! would love to come to one next year ~ I’ll have to start saving😉

    chocolategirl64

    11 August, 2015 at 12:22

  2. That looks like super fun collodion safari Borut!…..and new collodion building (@s i call it) is interesting motif by itself.
    ….Got your message….would be topshit thing to shoot some wpc in slovakia also:-)

    Brano

    11 August, 2015 at 12:36

  3. I would be very interested if you run another short wetplate negative/printing course….my daughter lives Northern Italy so should be possible to combine both visits sometime.

    Anonymous

    11 August, 2015 at 13:47

  4. That looks like a great and intensive time with excellent work! So nice to see negatives with different density and the prints made by different processes site by site. This is real photography and of cause topshit, too😉

    Christian Klant

    11 August, 2015 at 16:57


Leave a Reply

