TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New version of my 5am book project

with 4 comments



OK, if you know me or follow me for more then a week, then you’re probably familiar with my project 5am, a series of photographs taken around 5am around different places in the world. It’s my love affair with light.

Books that I've done with my photography. These are mainly handmade books, ten of them are different versions of 5am project.

Books that I’ve done with my photography. These are mainly handmade books, ten of them are different versions of 5am project.


I’m making this project for last 15 years and I will keep on working on it until it will be published, although that is not the guarantee I will really finish it, since that’s the most beautiful part of the day. It’s the surreal time when the night has finished already, but the day hasn’t started yet. Very intriguing it is. With years it became my morning routine, my walking meditation. I must say that I do not wake up every day at 4:20 and photograph until 5:59, but when I travel, I do my 5am routine and in certain periods I did that every day.

In the video I’m mentioning that the only merit I follow is the question, have I done it the best I can? And this is the only true merit there is. Sure, there are many competitions and just because the main reward has a high recognition and huge numbers of artists apply to it, that does not make it more absolutely objective.

OK, the word objective is a ficticious one, nothing in the universe can be declared as an universal objective thing or process, it does not exist, there are just subjective views and the view that is supported by many people is declared to be an objective one – for that circle of people.

What I’m trying to say is that I do not count how many people agrees with my views and I do not count how many likes have I received (although my mother counts them, so press LIKE!!!), the bottom line is that my personal credo is always to ask myself have I done it the best I could? Of course things can always be done better, but then there are circumstances… Sometimes circumstances are just overwhelming and you can not do it like you imagined to be done. We are not born equal and some of us are just more fortunate then others.

I feel and know that I am the fortunate one. I make my art and although financially is very challenging (read – shitty) I know it’s what I will be doing for the rest of my life. Of course I’m struggling to publish the book and I know that the book which is not published, it’s not a “real” book. But I also know that someday I will publish it. I know that the day when it will be published will happen and when it will happen, I want it to be the best as I could do it.

Let me share an anecdote of Goran Dragić. He is a NBA player coming from Ljubljana, Slovenia. He is super talented player, but when he arrived in NBA, the coach was ignoring him. He didn’t get a chance to play on the court. He was desperate, but he got the best advice from a friend. He said, you are in NBA. Your minutes on court will come. You don’t know if coach will call you at the next game or in half a year, but coach will call and when he will call you you want to be ready! What you can do today, is to train hard, so when your minutes will come, you will be in the best shape possible. The coach left him sitting for almost a year, his nickname became Goran Tragic. It took almost a year, but when the old coach left and the new coach send to play and he proved himself to be one of the best NBA players! His career high was 40 points in 38 minutes!

So the bottom line of this post is that I know the 5am book will be published eventually and when the time will happen, I want to be ready😉

Let’s finish it with the highlights of the main president Goran Dragić! Goran Dragić.

Written by Borut Peterlin

6 October, 2015 at 22:57

Posted in 5am, book, video podcast

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Super post Borut! Keep Rolling🙂

    Matjaz

    7 October, 2015 at 09:25

  2. …very true and inspirational post Borut, i really like your attitude… the more I, myself going through some hard times (read shit :-D) and i couldn’t agree more on that at the end the only thing that matters is…..have I done it the best I could?

    Brano

    7 October, 2015 at 10:13

  3. Borut, I met you more than 10 years ago with a copy of your 5am in your hand. Some of the pictures you showed me than I still remember to this day, and most of them are still in there. It’s not just ok, it’s impressive. Keep up with this, I’m sure there is a publisher waiting for this.

    Tanja Taštanoska

    7 October, 2015 at 22:21

  4. Thank you Tanja, I think we’ve met at Metelkova? Excellent! Yes, I will keep on pushing it. On the end of the day one of my favourite book, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance was originally rejected by 121 publishers, more than any other bestselling book, according to the Guinness Book of Records, so I will keep on working to beat this record🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    12 October, 2015 at 12:41


Leave a Reply

