TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Christmas special video on albumen printing and wet plate collodion negative

with 6 comments

 
Ha, I finally finished my Christmas special video, few days after Christmas, but never mind. In this video I’m researching different lenses from Petzval Gasc & Charconnet from 1860’s to Voigtlander Heliar from 1930’s to Schneider Tele-Xenar from 1970’s. Then I’m making albumen prints from wet plate collodion negatives and I’m analysing the results. It’s my home-work for my new project on Schengen border that is wrapped in barbed wire, but more about it later.

Screenshot 2015-12-27 15.17.45.pngOf course I’m listing the best print on Ebay as an auction from $ 0,99 USD and I’ve set it for five days, so it will be ending at the end of the year. Party like it’s 1999! I’m really happy with this work, it’s my final home-work, before starting a new project. As you probably know, European Union is a union of different countries, but the official – police- border is not set at the final frontier of the EU, but it’s actually set on the border of Slovenia and Hungary, if we are talking about south east border. HERE is a link about the Schengen Area of 26 countries and HERE is how it looks in barb wire! I will devote a post about my new project, probably before the end of the year.

About the print, I hope you like it, it’s the best I can do. It’s the closest I got to the perfect albumen prints done by Eadweard Muybridge, that I’ve seen in George Eastman House. In the print I’ve invested absolutely all the knowledge I have about wet plate collodion negatives, albumen printing processes, large format cameras and photography on general.

And you can tell, I’m not taking any shortcuts! Some people prefer to drive a car, fast cars, but I prefer to walk. Sure, it takes much more effort and yes, I might arrive at the same place much later then everybody, but when we will arrive to our goals, although standing side by side, we will not be the same people, as we started the journey. And… I prefer to walk, I prefer to do hand-made photography.

If you want to learn the process properly, you need to go to George Eastman House, where you will see vintage prints from Masters of Photography and you will be thought by a master of photography, Mark Osterman! If you are based in EU, you don’t need me to express my condolence, but you can also take some of my topshit workshops. Schedule for 2016 is coming soon.

Last but not least, I must tell you that I’m over flooded with emails concerning details about the process. I can’t answer all of them, but I do make a reply to every question asked by my patrons, so if you want to join the crowd, please visit my patreon.com/borutpeterlin site.

Thank you for supporting my work, either trough bidding on my prints, sharing my videos and foremost being my patreon. I appreciate it a lot!

 

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. beautiful work borut! have a good new year! best wishes, benjamin

    Benjamin

    27 December, 2015 at 21:55

  2. Wonderful Topshit Production Borut. Love that you took the time to do an under the LR shot out in the dirt road. I love that you finally showed us your chicken coop and your Albumen helpers🙂 Finally, superb work as always. Your prints are always Topshit! Happy New Year my Friend.

    John Fink Jr.

    28 December, 2015 at 00:59

  3. Dear Borut Peterlin: I have been following you on-line for a long time. Words cannot express how impressed I am with you, your work, your attitudes. This does not happen to me often. You are pure artist, in my opinion. I just became a patron. Hopefully one day it can be more. In the interim, I am wondering how much your collodion landscapes are? I am particularly drawn to winter images, ice, snow, snowflakes. Actually any process or print from you in that catagory I would be interested in. I love your Ambrotype image and sensitive presentation for it. Have a good New Year. Best, Shel Izen

    Sheldon Izen

    28 December, 2015 at 05:43

  4. Dear Borut, again – what a great vide! I know how much work it is to produce them. (And this is why I din’t even started to do my own videos…)
    So thank you for sharing your passion!

    Christian Klant

    28 December, 2015 at 08:23

  5. Dear Benjamin, John, Sheldon, Christian and others,
    thank you for your kind words, it’s much appreciated. You know the process is very challenging and to record a video while photographing it takes a lot of effort, but it’s worth it. I studied photography in the best places I could think of, but I live in an environment that does not need these kind of expertise on the level I want to provide (read make a living out of it), so there are only two options, either I go in the world or world comes to me.
    Either you live where you work, or work where you live. I have chosen the second option and the blog is my first step, workshops are the second. I’m getting ready to start a book about topshit photography and no, it will not be yet another manual from A to Z, it will be Topshit Photography Manual🙂
    So thank you for confirming that what I do has a value🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    28 December, 2015 at 10:30

  6. Topshit Book will be on my shelf🙂

    John Fink Jr.

    28 December, 2015 at 18:56


Leave a Reply

