TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Barbed wired final frontier of EU

with 11 comments

Dear readers,
I’ve started a new project. I’m foremost documentary photography and ever since I got myself devoted to wet plate collodion process, I regretted the fact that I’ve parted with the spontaneity and playfulness of 35 mm photography. I desperately wanted to smooth my workflow, so the complexity of wet plate collodion process will not stand in my vision of documentary photographer, going around, taking pictures. That’s why I’ve made this invincible wet-plate mobile! If you are wet-plate practitioner you will appreciate a lot the content of this video, because wet-plate workflow has never been easier! Of course the dark-box is the key, as I’ve described in my LAST POST.

Now, finally, I can devote myself again to documentary photography I cherish so much. My theme is The Final Frontier of EU, more precisely the EU’s Schengen border. To prevent migration of refugees from Syria and immigrants from other places, Slovenian government decided to put barbed wire on our south border!

 

71WHId5NVOL._SL1500_Imagine that!?! I do not know what think and what will they solve with what? Imagine that thousands of refugees will flood across the river Kolpa to Slovenian soil and take a stand there! What will Slovenian government do then? I mean it’s not 1939, journalists are all around and on top of everything we should pretend to be civilised, so we set barbed wired fence. To stop what and who? Deers?

Most of my readers don’t know much of history of Slovenia and there is no reason why should you know, but in this context I will say few lines. Slovenia used to be part of Yugoslavia, governed by communistic regime that resist Stalin’s politic and therefore received a lot of

zica_tine

Deer that died in huge pain. Photo: Tine Lindič

sympathy from West and East. There was a very real threat that Soviet Union will invade Yugoslavia like they did to Czechoslovakia, Lithuania and others. Churchill delivered The Iron Curtain Speech in 1946 and its south-east border was actually Slovenia (that was part of Yugoslavia at the time). So what I’m trying to say is that in the past we experienced some really difficult times and inspire of being threatened with invasion, even when the Iron Curtain was being set on our borders with Italy and Austria, even in the dark times like this, our ancestors did not think of making our country like barbed wired concentration camp!

That said Slovenian nation, we deserve the finger up our asses, for being a faithful servants of our masters, support the imperialistic war in Iraq and dismantling Middle East, being quite at violation of human rights issues, buying particular arms and basically everything we supposed to do, to receive crumbs from the table. There is solely one good lesson to be learned from this refugee crisis. The whole Europe and the world has learned that whatever war happens wherever in the world, we will have in a month time refugees knocking at our door! USA is safe, they do not care, but people we have learned that you can not cross a border as a single person, but a flow of hundred thousands of refugees is unstoppable!

I say this in first person, because on the contrast to most of you, I do not exclude the scenario that I and my family might need to flea from a future war. I was 9 years old, I still remember very clearly, we had a lunch, I was being very picky and my grand father said, appreciate the food, because tomorrow it might be another war. I was laughing at him, thinking how silly he is, but not even ten years later we had a war!

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a mighty fine vehicle. Are you selling tours?🙂 Excellent image at 6:02.

    Bob Ramsak

    13 January, 2016 at 11:18

  2. Beautiful pictures. I think it’s a good and important project. Have sympathy for your opinions. I admire also that you can handle your photographic equipment in the cold weather. Last time I was out of -9 degrees celcius I could not release my shutter because of my frozen fingers!

    Dan Roy Andersen

    13 January, 2016 at 18:18

  3. That’s a PVC pipe cutter, not a wire cutter! No good as Visa for Slovenia!!!

    Head Bastard

    13 January, 2016 at 22:57

  4. You and your work has sparked my interest in Slovenia. Thank you!

    Anonymous

    14 January, 2016 at 10:38

  5. According to your promise to make 40 videos out of one picture – would you be so kind to show further details of your homemade darkbox and this silverbath-tank you made? I would appreciate some DIY hints very much. I`m just preparing my start into wet collodion and want to build these items by myself.

    Karl

    14 January, 2016 at 14:04

  6. Ha, yes, I’m selling tours in deep forest of Slovenia. Next weekend I have a big group, we will lodge in a forest and do a workshop: Hommage to Ansel Adams.
    More on http://www.topshitphotography.com
    New schedule will follow in few days. Thank you for your interest!

    Borut Peterlin

    15 January, 2016 at 09:28

  7. Eh, every carpenter will make a better job then I’ve done. My darkbox is perfect for my needs. You might prefer smaller and more transportable darkbox, so I do not know what would be the content of this video. Perhaps measurements? I can tell you, it’s 50 cm deep, 70cm high and 80cm long.

    Borut Peterlin

    2 February, 2016 at 19:53

  8. At the moment I start collecting/building the stuff, you need for wetplate. Your videos are a great inspiration.

    Actually I prepare an old 9 x 12 packfilm holder for wetplate und want to start with a folding camera from 1924. I also have an old contact-printer from that time wich has an enlarging factor of 2 so I can make 18 x 24 cm prints from my wetplates..

    I ordered the book “Nasskollodium” by Peter Michels and will read it. I hope, that it will give me some answers abaut the difference between makeng negatives and making positis.

    I´ve seen a lot of darkboxes but most of them are quite difficult to handle. My box will be smaller than yours because I want to do only 9×12 (old european format) I`ve seen your darkbox-video a lot of times but there are still some questions.

    Bach to your darkbox:

    1. I need some details about the sink with the drain.

    2. I need further details about the folding mechanism of your box (not about the magnets but about the way, it folds together and is adjusted, when open)

    Your video shows us, how to work with it but I want some details about the construction of it.

    Karl

    3 February, 2016 at 10:54

  9. Brilliant Borut, well filmed looking forward to the images to come.

    Lesley

    3 February, 2016 at 18:37

  10. O for a world without borders! Unfortunately we have walls and barbed wire on much of the border between the US and Mexico, too. Politicians seem to think it helps?!??, but it is an ugly thing, literally and metaphorically, and deadly to animals who can’t cross to the river and die of thirst a few feet from water.

    We won’t get involved in Mexican wars (Americans don’t like speaking of Mexico as a nation at war, but with situations like the 43 students who disappeared in Guerrero last year and a Mayor being executed by thugs upon her election, what else is it?) but we balk when people stream in from the south. Human beings have got to stop acting like children– our toys have gotten way too big for that.

    Speaking of toys, yours are fantastic! Wonderful images here. So impressed at your resourcefulness and your “no shit” attitude.

    Yours,
    kat

    katmcdaniel

    19 February, 2016 at 19:04

  11. […] time ago I’ve made a video about barbed wired EU border (link) and here is another episode from the project. I do not know exactly how will it developed, but I […]


Leave a Reply

