TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Topshit Photo-Safari, January 2016

with 3 comments

Here is a video from last weeks photo-safari in deep forest of Kočevski rog, Slovenia. If you want to join check my schedule at my WORKSHOP site. Unfortunately all the informations aren’t available just yet, but they will be in few days. The reason why I haven’t found time to finish the site is that I have a guests from Singapore and London, so we are exploring new locations for new workshops. Please check the dates on THIS link  and see if some term is matching your schedule. As said in few days I will publish more information. Exciting information!

But I can tell you that in July we are preparing unprecedented program from the region of Kočevski rog. Visitors will enjoy the exhibitions, talks, tours down in caves or up with paragliders, hiking or bicycling tours, learn about honey, herbs, observe bears in wild and of course take photography workshops. I’m a part of initiative to gather activities that are here forever and unite them under one month lasting event! More to follow!

Written by Borut Peterlin

31 January, 2016 at 02:04

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello Borut. Always a pleasure to experience one of your posts. What kind of birds do I hear in the beginning¿ I love the ice shown briefly in your glove. I love the effects of your toning. It really does make a difference. I used to make part my living in the darkroom and behind the camera. I used Minor White’s toning formula. I like your dog. I noticed that he turned away when the shot was taken. Once at a party a friend was getting ready to photograph a standard poodle who was sitting peacefully on the floor. I told my friend that I would show him how to photograph pets. He gave me his camera, I knelt down to compose and get prepared and zoooooom I never saw an animal run so quickly in the opposite direction. It’s a standing joke with us now. Be well……Shel

    Sheldon Izen

    31 January, 2016 at 02:44

  2. Shel, my main friend,
    those birds are not birds, but it’s one of the best flutist (… or what is the word for a musician who plays every blowing instrument?) in Europe playing. Boštjan Gombač is the man, key member of TerraFolk group that won BBC’s Audience Award in 2003 among other things. Also Janez Dovč who plays the accordion used to be a member of the group, so definitely extremely talented artists.
    Oh, since I’ve got deep into toning methods, all of my prints are toned. I have several techniques that works well and I love. I don’t know White’s formula, although I’m great fan of Minor White. He used hypnosis to teach photography! Amazing man!
    My dog is used to all sorts of posing torture, but son of a bitch doesn’t want to smile! 😉

    Borut Peterlin

    31 January, 2016 at 18:40

  3. Hello Borut: Thanks for your comment. I re-listened to your video, and in the very beginning, in the very beginning up to about 20 seconds or so, there is I believe some birds with an interesting call. Anyway, I am never sure of the proper way to denote a person who plays the flute. I looked on Wikipeda and found the following:

    A musician who plays the flute can be referred to as a flute player, flautist, flutist or, less commonly, fluter or flutenist.

    So there you have it. I am generally mystified by Minor White’s work. I will have to look that up about the hypnosis. I think White’s work is very under rated.

    I hope this finds you well.

    Shel

    Sheldon Izen

    4 February, 2016 at 10:25


Leave a Reply

