TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Footprints of a ghost / Topshit Photography Vlog E04 S01

with 2 comments

 

It’s Sunday evening and yes, I’m going to make it! The new week and the new video is here. Not only video, more importantly the new albumen print is here! In the first episode of my VLOG I was talking about inspiration and manipulation in photography. I was talking about landscape photography, intervened with retouching. This is what I had in mind. Exactly this kind of imagery I had in mind. I want that my images will have this kind of feeling. The surreal factor must be settle, hardly noticeable, but very much present. Like invisible power of magnet. The story of this woodland is long, rich and very tragic, so I am going to dose it bit by bit. Just trust me, this all makes sense.

The print is listed on Ebay as an auction. Thank you for bidding. This listings are important for me. I’m professional photographer, I need to pay my bills and these videos take a lot of time, so to know that people out there are following my work and we share the same passion, that is a real drive for me. And every week I’m getting more and more followers and I know the trend will climb and I know I can and will offer more!

I love to make these videos. Collodion photography takes a lot of preparation and planning. There is very little spontaneity while working in collodion photographic process. That is why I love to do this videos. Nobody expect of me to make good videos, so I make them from shear pleasure. And flying drone among trees, that is really difficult. I have DJI Phantom 2, which is an old model, without sonar, tracking motion camera and other sophisticated devices. In forest GPS signal is very poor, so drone is drifting in all directions and all the lights are blinking red, meaning do not take off, but I do take off and fly among trees. I haven’t crashed it yet, but I know I will one day. So please do bid on that print, now, before is too late!😉

COMING SOON….
For the next week I will reconstruct my personal darkroom, I have new sink. I have a client who want’s me to make an ambrotype for him, so I will do that. I already have an idea where to photograph for my project. On Saturday I’m taking a part of a workshop on picking wild food in woodland with Dario Cortese. If you are in Slovenia, check THIS LINK. On Sunday I’m preparing for the Woodland Photography Retreat. I’m organising an event for colleagues organisers and volunteers. We will visit all the locations, do some events and enjoy the company. In the middle of woodland my 9 year daughter will do a workshop of cyanotype for kids. She makes really amazing cyanotypes and she will teach other children. Now I go to bed. I feel exhausted, but satisfied. It was a good, very good week and I look forward of Monday. Very happy to be alive!

 

Written by Borut Peterlin

12 June, 2016 at 22:14

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I very much like this print🙂

    John Fink Jr.

    13 June, 2016 at 00:28

  2. Thank you John. I love it too. As you can see I am not saving the best one for myself, I’m putting it on auction. I will make second copy and it might take more then one attempt to make it the same quality.

    Borut Peterlin

    13 June, 2016 at 08:23


Leave a Reply

