TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Unbroken Tree Spirit / Retouched Wet Plate Collodion Negative

with 6 comments

Dear readers of my blog, I am very late with my production of videos. I have great excuses, but you do not follow this blog because of great excuses, so I will spare youūüôā

I think this video is alright. It took me two days to upload it, because of technical issues, but I’m satisfied with it. Only today I’ve noticed I haven’t used any drone shots, too bad.

Screenshot 2016-07-08 22.32.30.jpgFor wet plate collodion photographers there will be interesting the following example. In the video I’ve said that at the first test the fog appeared because I waited too long before subbing the plate to silver nitrate. Actually I’ve¬†recoded the explanations, but it is too long and boring, so I’ve edit it out. I can tell you now why I knew what is the cause of fogging. Please observe corners. Only in corner number 4 there is no fog. OK, there is some fog, but that fog is made out of sharp lines, meaning the plate was not cleaned enough. Other fog is obviously different. Corner number 4 is the corner where I’ve poured off my collodion off the plate, meaning that was the most fresh collodion. On other edges and corners fog is spreading toward the edge, from centre toward the edge. That is very clear sign of drying collodion, before the plate went to silver bath. The drying of sensitised plate looks different, very different. So my advice to you is to learn with every failed plate and every successful plate. Believe me, it is very likely that I have made much more foggy plates then you, but I have learned by doing it, so now I can do it either at temperatures of¬†-9C (link) or at + 30C (link). ¬†Just do it and fail miserably, that is the only way to make it happen.

As you imagine to make this videos it takes a lot of time and because I’m a professional photographer, I need to justify the time investment, so I need to sell my photographs. I thank you for bidding, sharing my videos, commenting, subscribing and basically all the attention this social network is giving me. It’s my dream job and I have more to come! My prints became quite expensive¬†(THANK YOU), but if you still want to give me a tip and buy me a cup of tea every month, you can visit THIS SITE and¬†become my patreon.

Screenshot 2016-07-08 23.49.39

Screenshot 2016-07-09 00.52.48

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello Topshit Photographer: Good to see what you are up to. Enjoyed it. I know that it is funny that people ask you for your solutions recipe. I like your advice to think it thru, and then ask for help when you are stuck. When I sold cameras years ago, a customer came up to me and asked: “What do I need to be creative¬Ņ” My answer: “People do wonders with a Quacker Oats box and a pin.” Still enjoying my/your Ambrotype. Best, Shel

    Shel

    9 July, 2016 at 07:40

  2. Yes, Shel, that’s wonderful way of putting it! Scientists made a test how creative people are, how many object they could build with spaghetti. Children under 10 were much better then engeneers. And you have the ambrotype that is actually ambroice, taken at -9C! I have only negative from that scene.
    Borut

    Anonymous

    9 July, 2016 at 14:05

  3. I think this is one of the first time I caught your video and ebay ads prior to the auction ending! I have used the ebay app to save searches before but didn’t realize I could save a seller alert for notification… so I did just that. You might want to let other fans and art collectors of yours know they can do this with ebay! Here are some screenshots on an old version of the ebay app for iphone: https://i.imgsafe.org/18113b5cfd.png

    Brian

    10 July, 2016 at 01:00

  4. Brian, that’s an excellent tip. Thank you! I always include extras in the package and you will get extra extras for this tip! Thank you mate!

    Borut Peterlin

    10 July, 2016 at 17:52

  5. Borut, really enjoy your videos and am about to start doing wet plate collodion so you are an inspiration. Two reasons I really like your latest video. Firstly I have an old Landrover Defender and have just come back from an off roading trip to Northumberland, England and so can relate to your forest driving – incredible machines. Secondly I have always loved the Doors but only recently heard the song “Waiting for the Sun” on the radio for the first time then tonight heard it on your video. Watch Jim sing it on YouTube.

  6. Ha, that’s great, Charlie! I’m finishing the season with my workshops and I will start my videos rolling again.

    Borut Peterlin

    19 July, 2016 at 23:38


Leave a Reply

