TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Ghost Window in wet plate collodion

with 3 comments

Dear followers,

This vlog should be published earlier, but I am missing three of my cameras. All small ones, like analogue compact Rollei camera, GoPro 3+ and Nikon J5 cameras. I have no idea what happened to them. In 30 years I have not lost a camera. I almost did, but never really. This small cameras were in my bag and I was carry them always with me. It might be that I forgot my backpack somewhere, but is more likely that someone took it out of my car. Today’s thieves do not need to brake a window, to get in your car. When I went to Prague I was resting on a rest stop and a thief silently broke in my car, without leaving any damage or signs. He did this while I was resting in the car! But then I woke up and he fled. Without steeling anything. So it might be that it was stolen or not. I do not know. Too many things happening in my life right now and this is the price to pay. Although this event is annoying it does not put me off. In fact that is why I bought Nikon J5, because I didn’t want to use the almighty and all expensive Nikon D4! Imagine that would happen with my Nikon D4 and my expensive lenses!

Anyway… Here is my latest vlog where I continue working on my book A Father’s Tale. A photo-book is not an album of images. It is a sequence of images carefully narrated through each page. Just like when music notes are containing parts that are actually bringing the orchestra to quit down or even to a complete stop, also photo-book must have parts in the book where an eye will relax, digest, reflect.

My idea is that the photo-book of my daughters should contain images that on information level do not tell you anything about them, but the images are containing certain mood that is bringing the viewer’s attention away from the information level and building the story on emotional level.

So that is why I’ve decided to photograph this window. I could ask one of my daughters to stand there or even I could stand by the window, but I’ve decided to keep it calm and simple. It is just one image in the book, but important one.

I hope you will like the image and the video. Please subscribe and share. My plan is to build up large enough social network and sell my books directly to my audience. And/Or with the large enough social network, main stream publishers will be interested in publishing the book. So thank you for subscribing to my YouTube channel, to my blog, to FB page and to my Instagram.

LINK to eBay listing of the silver-gelatin print

LINK to eBay listing of the ambrotype

LINK to eBay listing of the albumen print.

ebay-silvr-gelatin

ebay-ambrotype

ebay-albumen

 

 

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It is bad shit when your tools are stolen! Long time ago I was with my son in the zoo of Amsterdam, and I did have my Rolleiflex with me. One short moment I was busy with my son (3 years of age that time) and the Rolleiflex was gone. I did have to save money for it for a long time before I could buy it, so I was very sad!

    Ferry

    13 February, 2017 at 15:16

  2. I found them! I asked a colleague if I perhaps forgot it in the meeting room and he said no. But few days later it was right there. THX! I had cheap/er cameras, like GoPro 3, Nikon J5, but still, to buy those it costs a lot.
    Thank you for sharing your experience, Ferry, I feel your distress!

    Borut Peterlin

    20 February, 2017 at 21:41

  3. My girlfriend is buying me one of the silver gelatin prints for my birthday. I will be hanging it in my office/darkroom as an inspiration. Very pleased!

    Jeremiah MacAitkens

    24 February, 2017 at 00:24


Leave a Reply

