TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Daughter facing future

leave a comment »

20170224_8144Oh, I am so happy for this photograph I’ve created! And it’s a portrait of Brina, of my youngest daughter that does not want to be photographed very often! And she has a birthday today, she is 10 years old! Exactly on today’s date, ten years ago she took her first breath and joined us on our path of life.

In the video I’ve explained almost everything. I wanted to discuss the composition, but on the end I did not. When photographing I was in dilemma if I want her facing left or right. It would be more natural to be facing right, in the direction that we read a photograph. When I say we, I mean westerners, we read written word from left to right, that is why it would be more natural that she would face right. But on the end I’ve decided that she should face left. Because of her posture, standing brave, facing something that is out of the frame. But we see the thorns surrounding her. But she glows, she is surrounded by white back-light.

For us who know Brina well, we know how suitable is this portrait of her. She is really a fighter. Boys do not want to mess around with her because she knows how to punch. Of course I have thought her how to defend herself. I told both of my daughters that they will not go out on a date before they will not demonstrate how to use elbows and knees in self defence. Yep, that is our Brina! I’ve listed the print on eBay (link).

Silver chloride gelatin paper, a contact copy from my collodion negative.I have an art student from Barcelona here, her name is Ana and she is assisting me. First week we had basic darkroom techniques and the second week she is already printing contact copies from collodion negative on silver-chloride paper and split toning them. I’ve listed that print on eBay too.

 

ebay-drevoebay-albumen

Leave a Reply

