TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Camel Trophy wannabe trip

leave a comment »



On Saturday a group of Land Rover enthusiast were planning a trip near where i live, so I’ve joined them. I was suspicious if my old-timer will keep up the pace with the younger big brothers that had tires 255 85 R16 and engines with three time as many horsepower. By my complete surprise they were not waiting for me, my Land Rover Series 3 did climbed all the roads there. I didn’t go into the deepest mud, since that wouldn’t be right, but I did climbed all those roads. One was particularly scary. In the video you can see a road that has literally trenches diged by rain. You can’t hear me swearing when driving on the edge of that road and furthermore when my car stalled. It shouldn’t, but I’ve made a mistake. I knew I had to drive back, but before driving backwards down that hill I tried to get my car going again and by my complete surprise it was very easy! What a car!!! The only problem we had was the mud that got on an air filter of a Defender. We washed the filter with water and then dry it on an exhaust pipe. How cool is that! He, he, he…

The commentary is from Camel Trophy Mundo Maya 1995 and I’ve picked it because we all drive Land Rovers because of those adventures and it’s an excellent editing twist. You understand this is no convoy of 20 vehicles and this is not South America, but the commentary does fit perfectly at certain parts, so it’s confusing. ha, ha…

The result of this trip is that I’ve find out what my car is capable of. I wouldn’t dare to take those roads alone, but in a group of five Land Rover and they all have winches, I’ve give it a go and successfully finished the tour. Here are some pics with captions. Also the route that we took, so it’s evident that this was not off roading, all these roads are public roads, but after rain they aren’t for every vehicle.

Route that we took. It's not off roading, these are public roads, although some parts aren't for every vehicle.

Route that we took. It’s not off roading, these are public roads, although some parts aren’t for every vehicle.

Written by Borut Peterlin

31 August, 2015 at 10:31

Posted in land rover, Series 3

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

