TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Head Rest for Wet Plate Collodion portraits

with 6 comments


.
Finally I have a good and solid headrest for my wetplate portraits. I was looking for a headrest and in USA they costs about 600 USD + shipping + customs. I tried to use a microphone stand and that’s useless since it’s not solid enough. Some time ago I was doing a portrait of a traditional blacksmith Miha Krištof from Maribor, Slovenia and I knew he was able to make a good headrest. It’s really good, solid and it looks slick! I payed 300 EUR, which is not cheap, but when I saw the result I was very happy. It’s an excellent investment! I’ve made this videolog to show it to you. If you want to order it as well, I can give you a contact, his wife speaks perfectly German and his apprentice speaks English as well. On the click HERE you can download patents for Head Rest from 19th Century that were gathered by Miša Keskenović. With this plans and pictures of my head rest you can find a local craftsman and order it locally.

Miha Krištof, blacksmith

Miha Krištof, blacksmith

head rest for wetplate portraits made by Miha Krištof

head rest for wetplate portraits made by Miha Krištof

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kdo pa je tam pod deko? 🙂

    Anonymous

    25 December, 2012 at 19:08

  2. Ja, prav res, ha, ha, ha…

    Borut Peterlin

    25 December, 2012 at 21:21

  3. […] a story (photograph in my case) just with an expression. I brought my newly made headrest stand about which I was blogging already. A friend and colleague from Ribnica Luka Ileršič show up and show started. I’ve portrayed […]

  4. […] ordered a headrest from a master blacksmith, Miha Krištof and he made an astonishing product. In the post from December 2012, I even published links of the bleuprints that I gave to the blacksmith with intention that […]

  5. […] There’s one that I know of making these close to the 19th Century design, which would be Claude Levet (refer to his head braces here), and another made by traditional blacksmith Miha Krištof, which is promoted by a seasoned wet plate practitioner, Borut Peterlin (which I think he is a Master practitioner at this point). Which is also based on several US patented head braces design, but with more industrial design look (refer to his blog entry here). […]

  6. Hello Borut, my associate and I would be very interested to buy one of thoose headrests.
    Do you know if they are still available and the total price to send one to France.
    Thank you for help and time!
    Nède
    le_nede@hotmail.fr

    Nede

    25 August, 2017 at 17:39


Leave a comment