TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Crazy creative portrait of a team Beli sladoled

with 26 comments

Beli sladoled by borutpeterlin.com 20110509_9098

Beli sladoled (White ice cream) is a world-known painting group consisting of two academic painters, Miha Perne and Leon Zuodar. They develop drawing as an autonomous fine art medium. Beli sladoled acts on the principle of the »Kinder egg«, which means that their every exhibition is a surprise on its own.

I received a brief to do their portrait on Sunday, that’s the day before the shoot, but this paragraph above from their site is all that I needed to know. They act as by the “Kinder egg” principle, I act by the principle of Terrahawks – “expect the unexpected” which is a perfect concept to start from if you don’t have a concept at all.

They won this year’s OHO prize, so first we planned to make a photograph at Vžigalica Gallery with the podium, but it was Monday and the Gallery was closed and we couldn’t get the keys.

So we met at Metelkova. I was an hour early, so I was relaxing on a sun like a sand lizard then I walked around Metelkova and noticed a guy named Eddie that was building something with bricks and had a shopping trolley full of bricks. I asked him if we can borrow his bricks with a shopping trolley and of course there are no problems at Metelkova 🙂

My first concept was to present them as a brick dealers in a dark brick lane of Ljubljana and the ideal brick scenography was not far from Metelkova, just beside the Old Power Station. Miha and Leon dressed themselves in their official uniform and we walked down the street to the location. We had such a laugh on our way and even more when the trolley flipped. When we arrived on the location I tried a picture with a trolley, then I was wondering if I can do a simpler image without the trolley and you can see different takes until we came to a final scenario that you can see above.

More creative portraits you can see on my site www.borutpeterlin.com, but since I wasn’t updating it lately I recommend also my flickr account. Anyhow don’t forget to rate, share, comment…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent job of capturing personality in such a simple image.

    Susan See

    10 May, 2011 at 10:19

  2. Thank you Susan! It was fun too!

    Borut Peterlin

    10 May, 2011 at 10:41

  3. I used to work with masons for almost 5 years…where could I get a suit like that?

    jc

    10 May, 2011 at 13:34

  4. They said those two suits were about 800 EUR. They are painters, so they painted lines by hand. Or so it looked like, I’m not sure.

    I was in Benetton / Villa Minelli last week. I’m sure they would love it!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    10 May, 2011 at 13:38

  5. What were you doing in Italy? I thought they didn’t like foreigners like you or me. What’s Benetton? A highway?

    jc

    10 May, 2011 at 16:51

  6. Wait…800 euros? That is very high…or is it normal for such a suit.

    jc

    10 May, 2011 at 17:56

  7. For special issue of Mladina we’ve made an interview with Luciano Benetton. and yes, you are right he owns also autostrada, autogrill and toll booths, among others…

    Borut Peterlin

    10 May, 2011 at 19:48

  8. Iz veri najs!

    Matjazz

    11 May, 2011 at 07:01

  9. Were you back in Treviso? San Tomaso? Is Omar there? Did he kiss you?

    jc

    11 May, 2011 at 12:49

  10. Did you make a portrait of him? When will we see it? You see how I seperate my comments to appear as if there are a lot of comments on this blog? Do you like it?

    jc

    11 May, 2011 at 13:39

  11. Yes I was in Fabrica as well! I have much new material to publish on my blog. I bet you I have more material to post, then you have comments.
    I LAJK! haumač?
    b5

    Borut Peterlin

    11 May, 2011 at 16:08

  12. Oh goody…I can’t wait to hear the stories and comment away.

    jc

    11 May, 2011 at 17:34

  13. C’mon man your fans are begging you to post a new blog with a huge text explaining why you’re the best!

    jc

    13 May, 2011 at 09:49

  14. I have a JC as a comment master, I don’t need to explain any more. Tomorrow I’m shooting a DVD tutorial for Nikon. Nikon and JC knows…

    Borut Peterlin

    13 May, 2011 at 22:06

  15. Looking forward to see it…I’m working on my film and hitting the last mile. Maybe Fotopub will screen it.

    jc

    16 May, 2011 at 07:53

  16. by the way tell nikon i said hello. it’s been a while.

    jc

    16 May, 2011 at 13:18

  17. She was only 17, if you know what I mean…WELCOME TO THE 17TH COMMENT.

    Borut do something, please change these pictures or say something.

    jc

    17 May, 2011 at 11:14

  18. Thx for your comments JC, but I’ve just bought a hockey gear and I’m back to that hockey field that we used to visit twelve years ago. I reckon I’ll not post much in this week, since I’m scoring goals in a search for lost youth.

    Borut Peterlin

    18 May, 2011 at 07:55

  19. Ah good for you man…i miss playing collective sports.

    When you find lost youth make sure give a lot to stepo.

    jc

    18 May, 2011 at 08:15

  20. ok dude, enough of playing hockey and impressive the young lads with your ‘experience’ and ‘wisdom’…time to get back to your talent: posting images with long comments on how, why and what?

    jc

    19 May, 2011 at 09:37

  21. OK, I will, I will. Actually we had a family trip to Mirabilandija. It’s 530km away in Italy, quite close to Rimini. It was sooo fun! I recommend!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    22 May, 2011 at 10:10

  22. nothing new for 15 days…what’s up with that chief?

    jc

    25 May, 2011 at 11:50

  23. hear it here last: mladic was arrested putting a severe dent of him appearing in a next striptiz portrait by borut peterlin.

    jc

    26 May, 2011 at 13:31

  24. I thought you were joking about the arrest of Mladić! That’s fantastic! I’ve been in Srebrenica and a morgue with several hundred unidentified bodies and also in Crni vrh – Zvornik the largest mass grave from a genocide in BiH. I wish Mladić a fair trail, because fairness is what he deserves, although it can not be delivered in a trial and also not in a/one lifetime, but he will get what he deserves, no doubt!

    Borut Peterlin

    26 May, 2011 at 22:54

  25. […] cloths that were an art piece. We tried to make a snowman, but in Ljubljana there was no snow anymore so we went to Krvavec mountain, but snow there was too dry, too frozen, so we made this sort of characters. My idea was that they should go full monty and with one hand cover their “pride” and in the other hand they would hold an ice cream, but they were not up for it. We had a good laugh once again […]

  26. Hi there, I read your new stuff like every week. Your writing
    style is awesome, keep up the good work!

    shopping

    23 December, 2013 at 11:46


Leave a comment